Day 15 - Move from Ibud to Seminyak, jungle to beach


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Seminyak
March 6th 2024
Published: March 6th 2024
Edit Blog Post

Another restful night!

Although, I had lots of issues with both Facebook and Instagram. I actually thought that I’d been hacked, after lots of hassle trying to log in, change passwords etc….. I gave up, and deleted it all! I sent a message through WhatsApp, asking my family what had happened, and to put a message on for me explaining….. Ella responded back,.. Mum, Facebook is down! Grrrrr.. now I have none of them, and I have no idea what the passwords are because I don’t know at which point, or what my 20th attempt as password changes I had got to. I decided to go to sleep, and leave it until the morning!

I woke up at about 8am. It’s moving day today, after my shower, I finished packing my case, then went down for breakfast. I met Dave and Mabel on my way into the restaurant. We had a quick catch up on the eye situation, and a final goodbye. They’ve been really nice to chat to whilst I have been here!

The eye isn’t looking too bad this morning! It’s quite red, and swollen, but not black or bruised. It may come out as time goes on, but it is definitely better than I had expected…. Bonus!

Today for breakfast I went for the smashed avocado on sourdough with poached egg, potatoes and tomatoes. With my new intent of eating more, I finished with a fresh fruit salad and an almond croissant! It was all washed down with a water, and of course coffee!

All done, I took my case down to the reception, ready for leaving. I just need to buy more sweat water! Settle my bill, and I’ve got 30 minutes left for a relaxing, good cappuccino! I got to the desk, I couldn’t find my bloody debit card!!! OMG! I tell myself to calm down, it’s here somewhere! Then I realised, I have changed bags due to the falls yesterday, my strap broke when my fat arse landed on it. I mean, I was a dead weight at that point, so there’s no wonder it broke! So, I moved to one side, calmly unpacked my case…. Yayyyyy.. it’s in my broken bag!

I’ve come to the realisation…. I’m a bloody calamity at the moment… note to self…. Book your ideas up Lesley! … and now… to my Ubud parting, last cappuccino…..

Putu arrived perfectly on time- as I expected! We set off. It was pleasant 2 hour drive, with A/C, which is definitely a bonus! Yes, it’s so hot again. Putu said this is a hour drive, but due to traffic… 2 hours! I arrived a Jumbulyk Oceano, my next hotel at about 12:45. I dropped my luggage at the desk as I can’t check in until 2pm. I set off for a short orientation walk, just to try to get my bearings! I didn’t get far before stopping for an iced coffee!

I decided to have a snack sized meal, keeping up with, ‘eat more’ vibe. Then I realise that I have inadvertently stopped at a Mexican place. I don’t usually go for spicy foods, but I don’t really have great taste buds, I don’t smell or taste as much as the average person, so here goes, I can’t think it will really matter to me! I’ve ordered cauliflower tacos, with jalapeño and the house sauce…. Hmmmn …. Here goes!

Well, that was a pleasant surprise, didn’t really taste the spice! It was definitely a snack size taco, which was perfect! It’s now getting on for 2pm, so I can go and actually check into my room, The hotel is very swanky! Again, it’s ok, but not really in my comfort zone! It’s not that can’t enjoy it, it’s just that I prefer smaller, and more personal, with a bit of culture. You simply miss that out totally in a place like this.

I must mention…, the 7 foot wide bed.,., with a glass wall to the bathroom,… crazy!

My first job was to do my bit of handwashing. I need to give my denim shorts maximum drying time! Amongst the other smaller bits and pieces. I know I have a laundry option, but the control freak part of me wants to keep hold of everything! Ha ha!

I decided to take a wander around the hotel, just to see what is where! It’s huge, so I just want to get my bearings. I started at the roof top area. There is a nice infinity pool, a higher level sun deck, a cafe/bar area and a restaurant area. I think that’s the breakfast room! On levels 2& 3 are guest rooms and business suites. On level 1 is the reception and another restaurant and bar. On the lower ground level is the other pool with sun loungers. There’s also quite a bit of other stuff that I won’t be using, kids area, gym, spa, beauty place and yoga etc. I was planning on going in the pool for a dip, but the heavens have just opened, so I found a little, open air, comfy corner, overlooking the pool, so sat down to catch up on the blog! The rains come quick, and hard, but also stop quickly too, and it’s still hot throughout!

OMG..,. Where does the time go! I’m off back to my room to have a change…. Again… it’s nearly time to eat again! I ant to go and find the beach for a lazy day tomorrow… although the rooftop infinity pool looks just as inviting with no sand in every orifice!!!! I’ll make that decision in morning!

So I set off again, I’m going to find somewhere to eat, and have a look in the shops, on my way to finding the beach. We’ll see how I get on. I seem to be a bit like a firefly, I’m getting so easily distracted!!! Ha ha I guess that’s allowed, I’ve got no meetings to go to!

I wandered for a while, found the road to the beach, then finally stopped at a place called Mystique to eat. There was absolutely no reason why I stopped here, apart from I’m hot, sweating, and need a drink!

I ordered Sate Ayam with rice. It seems like satay chicken on skewers! If it looks like chicken, tastes like chicken, then there’s a good chance it is chicken, but no guarantees.. ha ha but I did look it up on translation before ordering though! I ate about 3/4 of it, but I stopped when I noticed the ants trying to walk off with the wooden skewer that I had inadvertently dropped on the table! But I checked… there were non on my plate! I decided to move over away from the greenery to enjoy my drink! Ha ha! Note to self: avoid eating near greenery!

I’ve done well today; I’ve eaten decent - ish food 3 times, I’ve had plenty of water and pocari sweat, no physical accidents and lost, but also found, my debit card… so far, so good. I’ve just got to get myself back to the hotel with no dramas! I’m confident it can be done!

I had a slow walk back to the hotel, slowly, but really sweating! I decided to have my good night cappuccino at the bar in front of my hotel. I got a really nice little chocolate cookie with it, and the usual iced water. It was a good stop as they had a singer on. Quite a nice way to end the night!

I had a lightbulb moment after my shower! When I went on the tour yesterday, each place stamped my arm. I’ve had about 5 showers since then, and have not been able to get it off! Finally tonight, I had a brainwave,… I used a wipe…. Yes, that worked, they are finally off!

I’ve just been online trying to sort out my car insurance! Nightmare! I couldn’t do it before I left as it was more than 30 days away. So I had no choice but to do it from here. Such a messing. I got nearly all the way through it, then it wanted to send me a verification code to my phone! So I had to scramble around change the SIM card, get the code, then swap it back… loads of hassle… but did it! then the final confirmation screen did not come. So I went on the web chat to ask for confirmation of payment. All she kept putting was, ‘Call renewals’ I explained so many times, simply asking for confirmation.,.. ooohhhh.., I so lost my rag with her….. and that was on text… ha ha. What can you go??? I’ll just have to watch my bank outgoings…

So until tomorrow….


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



6th March 2024

Hi ya Les. Hope your eyes better today, was it from your fall. Hope you don’t have to many more mishaps lv. Another lovely hotel. Looking forward to Seminyak😊 Watch you don’t get ants in ya pants lv 😂😂 Bye for now 😘
6th March 2024

Eye
Hiya what are you like hope your eye is getting better I told you to be careful but you think your indestructible you are getting on you know and you need to be fighting fit for Aussie glad your ok and enjoying yourself just please eat and drink and be carful enjoy reading about you your journey take care xx
7th March 2024

Hi Andrea!
I know… I am feeling the years that have passed since I last travelled like this.. I am having g slower days, I reckon Australia is going to be full on! Xx
7th March 2024

Hotel
Hi Les just had a look at your hotel, it’s beautiful. I know it’s not up your street but all the same it’s lovely. Don’t worry about the brain fog I’ve got more than enough ah ah ah. Carry on enjoying love Mart & Julie xx
7th March 2024

Hi
Hi both, always nice to see you following, and putting comments for me xxx

Tot: 0.31s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0659s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb