back in bali after 7 years


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Kuta
February 8th 2009
Published: February 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello so it’s my last day in Bali now and I and mika feel sad to be leaving Asia for the western world of Australia. I like the lack of rule’s, regulations, and risk assessments here in Asia and the use more of just common sense.

So Bali, I was here on holiday 7 years ago just before the bomb and had a fantastic holiday. So I was sad to here about the bombing and the future of tourism in Bali but since being here now I can safely say that Bali and the people have moved on and it is a great place to go for a holiday or to backpack. I didn’t get many photos in Bali as I have spent all my time surfing and partying. I walked along the beach and picked one of the many locals offering surf boards and lessons, I didn’t expect much from him as he was only a guy selling boards on a beach after all,but it worked out that he was a really good teacher and for six pounds for a 2 hour lesson was money well spent. I had done a bit of surfing before but never in waves
Photo 1Photo 1Photo 1

mimor bird that say's fuck you
this big but now thanks to my teacher I can catch a wave and stand up the majority of the time.

It’s a great feeling when your standing up riding a wave it’s like when you strike a football perfectly; hopefully I get more opportunities to surf when I get to Australia.
I ended up spending hours in the sea, every time I went to get out I said to myself just one more wave and it became addictive I am actually going surfing after this blog just before I catch my plane.

My surf teacher offered to show us round Bali for a really cheap price and we had become good friends, the tour he took us on was a bit crap but it was so cheap I didn’t care, he should stick to surf instructor rather than tour guide. We went to the monkey forest that I had been to before and an active volcano that we couldn’t see because it was too cloudy that day; we also went to some rice fields and had a traditional Indonesian lunch.

The nightlife for young people is great here there are many clubs to choose from and their all cheap for drinks and a great atmosphere. I just love that I can put on shorts and flip flops and go into a night club, I really do hate that formal crap in England of having to dress appropriate.I mean you can polish a turd but it will still be a turd. One of the nights out we found a really nice night club that sold beer for 7p I was so overwhelmed with joy, before we just passed the club because it looked nice so we thought it would be expensive.

We have done a bit of shopping here because we know that things in Australia will be more expensive. Dvd’s here are so cheap and the quality for a pirate is very good we should know now we have been in Asia watching pirate dvds for 8 months, we brought 29 dvds and two TV series of family guy and south pack for 6 pounds each.
I wish this place was closer to England because it’s a great place for a holiday I wish I could swap it for Costa del crap in Spain.

I look back and I can’t believe I have spent 8 months in Asia, I reflect and think to my self that I am really living my life and it is a great feeling.
I have and a great time and a fantastic experience I will miss a lot of things in Asia but now it’s time to move on and have new experiences in auz. Hopefully we can find work and continue on our journey.




Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

me and the surf teacher
Photo 20Photo 20
Photo 20

volcano thats too cloudy to see


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb