The Long Road Home


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
August 17th 2010
Published: August 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The last SupperThe last SupperThe last Supper

Enjoying a meal in a 5 star hotel.
Hi to all who are following,

I can’t quite believe that this is my last night in India. The time has gone so quickly and so much has happened within that short space.

The past few days have been spent enjoying the company of the students. On Monday we went for a special lunch which was very nice and it gave us a chance to relax with the students and have a bit of ‘craic’ with them. Then today (Tuesday) we had a staff and students picnic. We went to a nice retreat centre and played some games which included, finding dirty socks, live cockroaches and grey hairs!! The students also participated in some chili eating competitions. Needless to say neither Stephen nor I participated in those!

The more time I spend here, the more I recognize the value of investing our time and resources into Kingdom purposes. I passionately believe that every single one of us who are believers have to invest ourselves into it. I think that can happen in two ways. The first I see as - we can go. To be honest, I think many more of us can go that are willing to.
Staff and StudentsStaff and StudentsStaff and Students

Everyone has smiling faces and very full tummies!
It all just depends on how much priority we give it. I think that if you remove missions from the Bible there will be nothing else left.

If going isn’t your call then I think you can send. Sending isn’t just saying, “All the best, I’ll be thinking about you.” It’s giving financially with the same amount of sacrifice that those who go, are willing to give in terms of their time. If we aren’t involved to that extent then I think, to be blunt, we are shooting very far off the mark. Missions isn’t just for some, it’s for all of us, whether we are comfortable admitting that or not.
"The concern for world evangelization is not something tacked on to a man's personal Christianity, which he may take or leave as he chooses. It is rooted in the character of the God who has come to us in Christ Jesus. Thus, it can never be the province of a few enthusiasts, a sideline or a specialty of those who happen to have a bent that way. It is the distinctive mark of being a Christian." -- James S. Stewart
These thoughts challenge me deeply and daily. I
Action ShotAction ShotAction Shot

One of the Students catching a water balloon. Perfect timing!
confess that I don’t always have the level of commitment to the lost that I should, but I hope I am learning to improve in this area. I was almost going to say, don’t take it personally, but you know, I hope you do!
It’s hard to know what to say to summarize this years’ trip for me. I have found it both challenging and exciting all in the one breath. The more I try to grow into the plans and purposes he has for me, the more I realise that I have to depend upon Him. Please continue to pray for Stephen as he completes the rest of the course as Dean. It will be a different kind of experience for him to be here alone, travelling around in the car alone etc. It can also be quite isolating at times when you are the only one from your culture. Your prayers for him would be greatly appreciated.

As for me, I’m going home. There have been many blessings and many lessons to be learnt but in saying all that I know that this one thing remains true. . . . My God is such a faithful God,
Chili Eating CompetitionChili Eating CompetitionChili Eating Competition

The three willing contestants who sacrificed their stomaches for their team!!
I know He is good and I’m going to continue to give thanks in every circumstance. I hope you’re with me.

Blessings to you

Bronagh x


Advertisement



18th August 2010

Thanks
Thanks for all the time you invested in blogging Bronagh, and keeping the rest of us in touch - you have been a blessing and challenge to us. Praying for you both as you go your separate ways.
20th August 2010

Cheap Flights to India
It's a fantastic article and action shot is perfect.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb