Rishikesh - Beatle mania....


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
May 8th 2008
Published: May 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi Guys,
Seems a while since I wrote anything and now finding it difficult to start.
Incredible Indai where to start???
Left Jaipur as soon as possible for Puskar, it wasn't that far by bus and luckily the bus was relatively empty, just three other back packers which was great.
Puskar is beautiful a city in the mountains, however it was so hot - 43 degrees, it has a holy lake in the centre so there are ghats all around the lake and it was so nice to hang out around there. Ghandi's ashes were scattered there and the only temple to Braham in all of India is here too.
Well it didn't take too long for the heat to really get to me and for the first time since I arrived in India I was sick, really sick, I vomited 8 times the night before I left, everyone there seemed to get sick too so I was sort of expecting it besides the food wasn't terribly good there. Anyway the chemists are amazing you can get whatever you want, sort of self prescibe really and I was sorted out with a few antibiotics. I managed to get a sleeper bus to Rishikesh, this time I was the only tourist on the bus which was full of Indians and I have to say I was a bit nervous, of course it turned out to be fine absolutely fine disregarding the terrifying driving but yes arrived in Rish safe and sound. It is truly beautiful here, this is where the Beatles came, they stayed in at the Maharasi Temple, an Ashram which is now just ruins, it was funny walking in there footsteps, I could just picture John Lennon stoned. I am staying in Laxman Julla area which dosent really have any traffic, everyone walks around, there are jeep taxi's that fly by how a thousand people dont get run over everyday by them amazes me. Have met so many great people along my trip and again here in Rish so its really great, the 2 aussie girls Kim and Aja, whom are fab are here and we are staying in the same hotel, its a bit of a dive but hey its Indai these things just can't bother you, besides I barely sleep there. A few people I had met in Puskar showed up today so we are meeting tonight for dinner, I am doing a yoga course 7am every morning, I am really enjoying it, also doing a reflexology course so am very very busy. There are so many courses here its great, the book shops are fantastic too, its great to browse and keep in out of the sun because it is hot here too man, thankfully you get a breeze here which seems to pick up in the evening and its nice and cool crossing the footbridge which incidently is used by bikes, cattle, donkeys and yeah you guessed it monkeys too!
Anyway its just 5pm so I am going to chill before I try to shower and wash my hair - in cold water most likely. I have a new Italian neighbour moved in today he seems very nice too......
Sad to think trip is coming to end soon really don't want to come back
lotsalove
gail xx
.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.428s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb