Exhausted


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Kolkata
May 15th 2008
Published: May 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

KolkataKolkataKolkata

A Street!
Hello everyone,

I am in Kolkata now. Staying at this cheap little hotel in the dense heat. My journey started out a little rough. When I got to Mumbai due to a little confusion and the insistance that the hotel I wanted to go to was too far away to get back to the airport in the morning by a taxi driver. I basically got really ripped off taxi wise and ended up just making him take me back to the airport to wait out the night. Met some people there to talk to pass the time. Once in Kolkata I began to feel my jet lag take hold and in combination with the insane taxi rides, which don't bother me too much but certainly are relaxing, and the trash and poverty that is everywhere, I am exhausted. Its funny though, even with all the trash and poverty in this enormous city almost everywhere you look you can find something beautiful. Anyway, I won't stay here long, as its not really my kind of place. I have booked a train to Darjeeling tomorrow night. I met a German girl at this hotel who was leaving for it tonight and we are going to try and meet up when I get there. I guess I would say more but I really want to just go lie down and read and try to get over this jet lag a little. Tomorrow I will go see the enormous park that is near here and wander around a bit. I sort of haggled today, I probably still paid too much though. I realized I forgot to get a towel so I had to wander around until I found a material shop and buy one. Ha, I payed 30Rs instead of 40Rs which doesn't really matter since we're talking about a quarter there. Anyway, I am looking forward to heading up to the mountains where it is cool. I don't think i would mind the heat too much if i wasn't so tired!

Hope everyone is well,
Scott

P.S. Carolyn, I forgot to cancel my netflix, send me your e-mail or something so I can send you my password so you can cancel it. If you don't know my e-mail, its dhodo@clemson.edu

Advertisement



17th May 2008

Excited to hear from you
Hi Scott, I was glad to read your message to everyone. We were a little worried due to a bombing the day you were traveling, but am glad it did not affect your trip. I hope you have a good trip to Darjeeling on the train. i was working the last two nights-we had a fund raiser-wine tasting, art auction. It was nice, but a lot of work. I haven't seen Carolyn, but will call her today. If she doesn't want to, i guess I can cancel your netflix. Post some photos soon. The dogs and I are hanging out. Love you, Mom

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb