Pushy Priests


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Haridwar
March 18th 2007
Published: March 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I am in Haridwar. It's a beautiful city. I think it's the first place I've been to where I don't get too hassled. I checked into a place with bamboo huts right along the ganges. It's awesome. It's about three times as much as I've been paying but I've really enjoyed it. It's right on the water. It's surrounded by a beautiful garden and my little home. I've realized how much I've missed greenery. Is that how you say that? Rajasthan is so desert like compared to here. The vegetation is lush and it doesn't feel like every single building, shrubbery, and animal is dying from thirst.
Haridwar is where indians come to make puja and offering. They believe that getting into the water cleanses the spirit and you are forgiven of sin. I am not sure if I believe this......but I did get into the water. If nothing else for me the most remarkable sight was seeing the thousands of people shuffle down close to the water with offerings and bathings and this happens everyday! I think I believe more in the power of people who believe so strongly. People were collecting this stuff in plastic cans to take home.
I gave an offering too. I know my mom past away years ago but I did it for her because this was such a nice place and I remember how much she loved flowers. The offering is banana leaves glued together to form a boat. It's filled with all sorts of flowers and then a candle. You light it and then set it floating down the river. It's quite a breathtaking sight to see all these candlelit boats going down the Ganges at Sunset. The part that was annoying was that as I went down to pray and send mine off the man pretending to be priest took my boat and tried to help me thru my prayer and then asked for 200 rp! I told him I'd already put my donation in the drop box....which I really had and he left me alone.
Today at the place I'm staying at I asked if they could boil some water for me....I guess I offended EVERYONE because they looked at me like I was crazy and told me it's ganga water so it doesn't need to be boiled...but then I said I just wanted hot water for tea so they backed off they are really sensitive about this water here. Maybe next time I've got "delhi belly" I should just chug some of that stuff and see if it helps!
I checked out the ashrams here. I think I'm going to head to Rishikesh because the one's I went to here noone really speaks english and this is all going to be really knew to me so I want to be somewhere where they can explain what's going on. Maybe I will come back here though because the energy here is so good.
As for the other things going on....I am starting to get by speaking hindi....very rough but I can get across the necessary things and that feels really good! I miss a kitchen huge! I know at some point here I am going to try and rent a small place that has a kitchen so I can try and cook all the foods I've been learning. Plus after two months I'd like to prepare things exactly the way I want uknow? I have a sari that I bought in Jaipur. It is the most beautiful thing I think I've ever put on. It feels so elegant! I finally went shopping the other day it was so much fun! I got loads of bangles, a sari, and a pair of earings. Amy you would flip out!
Anyway I'm tired so I think I"m gonna go lay down and read for a bit. I hope everyone's doing well! I miss you all!





Advertisement



19th March 2007

Sounds beautiful!

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0569s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb