Yippppppyyyyy!!!!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Rishikesh
March 20th 2007
Published: March 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Oh wow everyone!!!! Today I arrived to Rishikesh! It's breathtaking! I thought that Hardiwar was great but this place is sweeeeetttt! I think I'm right at the base of the Himalayas!! My place is a little ways from the town up in the hills and it's surrounded by little bungalos that you really have to try and find....but once you find it it's totally worth it!
The town looks like its in a valley between mountains. The ganges comes down from the Himalayas here and then continues down to Hardiwar.
When I got here today I thru my bag down and set off...I couldn't believe how gorgeous it was outside. There is such a drastic difference in the geography in India. I just spent two months in the desert and now I'm surrounded by plants, mountains, and holy water! Yesterday their was a solar eclipse and that made it a very auspicious day to dip in the Ganges....you make a wish and the Ganges blesses you!
Anyway I spent the day wondering aimlessly...that's usually what I do when I first get to a new town. It feels good to kind of get my bearings straight and get an idea how big the town is going to be....
I think I'm going to stay here awhile (side note their are three indian dudes shopping for their wives online next to me...I'm trying not to laugh writing this right now. There are actually websites setup to help people meet people in their own cast so they can setup arranged marrages.)
So back to staying here awhile I think I'd like to park it here for about 8 weeks. There is an ashram I want to join so I'm going to go by tomorrow and see how much the classes cost. The ashram I picked is pretty neat. It offers meditation and yoga classes along with lecture classes. You live in a community of people all there learning too. The food is all grown there and they make their own ayurvedic herbs!
So I am going to go call Wendy!!! I'm so excited she said she's going to be by the phone!
Love you all!

Advertisement



20th March 2007

I'm jealous!!! It sounds beautiful!
21st March 2007

wow...
I finally got to read all of your entries. You are such a good writer that I felt like I was right there with you. I wish I was. I miss you and can't wait to hear about more of your adventures. Take a dip in The G for me, k?
22nd March 2007

So glad you're having an amazing time! I bet you'll be a different person when you come home. South by Southwest just finished up here, and I know Ellen and I are beat. Some meditation is just what the doctor ordered. I want to know more about the Indian women. Do they seem happy? Obedient? Strong? I'm so curious! Take care of yourself!
23rd March 2007

hill stations
Heya Sandra, I always look forward to your adventures and your fantastic descriptive writing on your blog! My mother has always told me that the hill stations are amazing -- Ive seen photographs and films -- but to see it in person and see a solar eclipse as well! Wow! It sounds like the heavens are smiling down upon you. Well wishes and hugs to you across the atlantic!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb