Phew! India, you are hard to dance with


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Mamallapuram
February 29th 2012
Published: February 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hi!

God, I've had a tough few days. Sometimes India can be a bitch.

It wasn't bad in a near-death way, just night buses with overweight man next to me, overpriced hotels with people that woke me up at 5.30 to get me to check out, feeling sick, nothing working, no water or electricity and a general bad mood - bad. So, just India-bad.

But! Now it's all better. I'm in a gorgeous little town, a world-heritage sight full of temples and rock carvings. I have a tiny little room, that I'm paying close to nothing for, a hope that I will make it out of Delhi somehow, and if I don't I just pay some ridiculous sum of money for a nice hotel room and go clubbing. Yay!





So, here's the deal. I don't really want to see the Taj Mahal. I know, it's a must-doo-must-see-must-not-die-without-it, but I just can't be bothered. It's a detour, it's full (!!!) of tourists, it's just a building.

There, I've said it. It might be a bad idea, as I just might end up doing it anyway if I can't get the train I want, but .. There's so many other things I would much rather spend my money and time on. Like the golden temple in Amritsar, a camel safari, a nice curry, the bazaars in Delhi and Mumbai, maybe even something ridiculous like a huge stone Shiva figure that I've been eying all day.



I must say, even with all it's annoying aspects, I love this country. Where ells does the rickshaw driver ask you to come to his house and meet his family, the women bathing in their saris, the spice plantation workers ask you to join you for their coffee break on the ground, the local struggling man use his only day off to show you around his town, the families gather around to get a photo taken with the foreigner, the cyclists carry huge piles of empty pots and pans on their backs, the street food taste as good as any restaurant food and elderly ladies hug you from behind in the line to the temple?

Cute.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb