I go walk-about in Chennai!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
February 25th 2007
Published: February 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

shadows...shadows...shadows...

I noticed the shadows as I was sitting down on the curb, it was quite interesting .
The other day, I went to a bank to deal with some issues. Man, those guys really piss me off. Anyway, I had to wait for a while to meet up with the manager, so I thought I might go walk-about the streets. I really hate to sit on my backside and wait for someone to turn up (instead I love to sit on my backside and watch the world rush by 😊 ).

I sat by the curb and watched the people who were rushing off to their work, vendors yelling by "Tomatoes", "old paper". I can't believe how busy life is here in chennai. I don't remember it was like this about 10 years ago. Any way, here are some interesting pics that I took while I was observing the people...




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

 kids on the street kids on the street
kids on the street

These two kids were playing on the footpath. I couldn't help myself, I stopped by and had a chat. These two were very bright and not shy, they knew how to talk...
kidskids
kids

Antony (left) is three years old and Nalla Samy is 6 years old. They weren't in school as the family lived on the streets... I was quite sad about these boys, but I can't do much about it. I really hope they get basic things like... food, shelter and education.
recycler...recycler...
recycler...

I really admire these guys, they start their work early in the morning and walk around whole city going through rubbish bins. They salvage whatever is reusable and they go and sell that to a middle man. For their whole day's work, they may get something like Rs.50-90!
recycler...  greenie!recycler...  greenie!
recycler... greenie!

I appreciate what these guys do, without them, I think we would have a lot more shit on our streets.
watermanwaterman
waterman

you can see this man is wondering wtf was I doing on sitting on the side of the road!
on the bus...on the bus...
on the bus...

I used to complain a lot about the bus services here in Chennai... but I they are quite reasonable these days. Thank you guys.


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb