Back from the Journey to the North


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Sikkim » Gangtok
May 31st 2008
Published: May 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I just got back from my trip to North Sikkim, it was great. North Sikkim is an amazingly beautiful place which is still mostly untouched by extreme population or development. The only think I didn't like about the journey was the extreme amounts of time in the jeep. Especially the ride back, I think our driver was in a hurry and was going a little too fast to be remotely comfortable because the roads are bad enough to throw you around in your seat if the driver goes too fast. But it was a beautiful country, waterfalls everywhere you look and green as far as you can see, and the rivers were all a brilliant shade of turquoise (maybe something to do with the glaciers, not sure though).

Oh, in regards to one of my previous comments, Kanchejunga is definately not K-2, as its in Pakistan, but it is the worlds 3rd (hmm, maybe 4th, can't remember) highest peak.

Speaking of heights, we went to a place known as "zero point" which was at 15,748ft, there were no trees at all. Other than that we just traveled around and went on a few hikes and ate some great food provided by all the guides staying at the various hotels we stayed at. All of the people who went in the jeep were great including the German girl I knew from before, 2 Swiss girls, a Slovenian couple, a Frenchman, and a Korean-American. All very intelligent and interesting people. One of the best times I had was last night when we were invited into a local home in a town called Lachen and we drank their homemade tomba, which i mentioned before, and sang songs from our countries and then danced to Nepali and Hindi music, all in their large room in their three room house which barely fit the 8 of us and a few of them right next to the wood burning stove which they heated the water with for the tomba. Great fun with very interesting and drunk Sikkimese people. They kept saying God is only one, but many names, or something like that, which is a very simple but wonderful statement. Another quote from a man who was high up in the department of health working there who was drinking glasses and glasses of straight Sikkimese whisky which the Slovenian man, Igor, was clever enough to write down was "My father expired, my mother... available" but you have to imagine it in a very excited Indian accent. Ha, doesn't seem nearly as funny when I wrote it down...

Anyway, that was a good trip but i never want to ride in a jeep again, unfortunately, i will probably have to ride in one tomorrow for 4-6 hours to get to the train station. I may get a bus instead though.

So tomorrow I am off to Varanasi and I should arrive Monday morning. I am not looking forward to the heat but I am looking forward to seeing the Holy City where everyone wants to go to die. Sounds morbid I guess but I'm told the creepiness of the idea doesn't really convey into being there.

Laura, I did get all of your messages and I'm glad at least one of the days of your festival went well. I am also sorry I forgot to wish you a happy birthday. But here it is, rather late, Happy Birthday! Since I guess I will have a lot of time when I get back, maybe I could come and visit you and maybe I still have a chance of seeing Yonder Mtn at Red Rocks.

Ed, sounds great, I had begun to give up on the California Trip, maybe another time, but I'd love to plan a trip to Patagonia or really anywhere in South America if that works for you.

I will try to buy some presents I guess but I'm having a hard time fitting all my stuff into the bags I have, so it will probably be towards the end of the trip. Don't get your hopes up though!

Ha, hope all of you are enjoying yourselves. I am feeling like I should have planned another month but I don't think I'll spend the outrageous amount of money it would probably cost me to cancel and rebook a one-way ticket. Plus I want to spend time with all of you before the summer is over.

Stay tuned for further reports!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.029s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb