Bath Stories


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan
January 12th 2009
Published: January 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Now that I've been here almost four and a half months and failed to keep a good account of the last two of them, I think I'd prefer to start documenting random stories and thoughts instead of trying to create a comprehensive overview of what goes on here. so here goes:

An example of how the way in which universal habits are performed in different cultures is fundamental in shaping the memories we gain from them, as well as the perspective we continue to carry in their regard:

Since I began living with my host family in September, I have observed that the parents face a constant struggle of getting their kids to bathe. When I lived with them for six weeks starting in September, I would wake up each morning to howling and wailing coming from the room next door.
When I came back t Jaipur for the week long second semester kick off, this daily bathing battle was something I had long forgotten about over the course of my internship. That is until, after my very first night back at the Meherishi home, the wailing and howling commence once again on queue. Suddenly life back in Jaipur
uprooted treeuprooted treeuprooted tree

my attempt at an artistic picture
seemed all too familiar. Instead of instintually rolling over and muffling my ears with a pillow like I had conditioned myself to do, I lay in bed wondering how this howling child could possibly perceive something as harmless and customary as a bath to be so awful.
I thought back to my years of childhood and how thoroughly I enjoyed bath time. At the end of every day (or every other) it was a thrilling opportunity to spend quality time with my floating figurines and untamed imagination. I remember plopping into a half-filled tub being filled with water too hot at first touch, but just right as my body adjusted. The floating butcher, baker and candlestick maker were my best bath pals. I would spend what seemed like hours with the nursery rhyme trio, rocking back and forth in the tub from one adventure to the next. Other toys were also an important part of the mix, and on special days I would pour out the entire mesh bag of bath toys until there were more plastic and rubber in the tub than water. Ahh this was the life; just me, my toys and the open ocean around me.
mid-day mealmid-day mealmid-day meal

out a village where the children begin their mid-day meal provided by the school

Flash back to reality where the howling continued. I thought, “Anusha, come on, how bad can a bath be?! Enjoy the fun while it lasts dear girl while you’re in your prime!” In my mind it was like she was ruining a great opportunity.
Later I asked Kate if she remembers having such fun in the tub as a child. Confused at why I was asking her such a strange question, I had to explain that I couldn’t understand why on earth the kids in this house put up such a fight about taking a bath. “Do they even have a bath tub in this house?” Kate replied. Her question explained it all and revealed what had been lying in front of me all along. I can’t say I would have enjoyed bucket baths as a child either. Oops.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

women carrying waterwomen carrying water
women carrying water

in villages women collect water from the local water source and carry it back to their homes like this
cow piescow pies
cow pies

cow pies are still an important source of fuel in rural areas in India
traditional tooth brushtraditional tooth brush
traditional tooth brush

twigs from the neem tree can be used as a convenient toothbrush out in the field
irrigationirrigation
irrigation

four tube pipes leading out to the fields


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb