Days 8-9 Ranthambore


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Ranthambhore National Park
March 8th 2009
Published: March 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: More monkeys 23 secs
2: Life in the park 96 secs
A tiger's paw printA tiger's paw printA tiger's paw print

Just to prove that there are some there
After a 7 hour train ride in comfortable AC chair I arrived at Sawai Madhoper. On the way I got chatting to a couple who lived 8 miles away from me - its a small world:-)

I had booked an all day jeep safari for the next day on-line, which meant that I had a 3 hour safari in the morning then laze about in the park for around 4 hours and then another 3 hour in hindsight I should have booked a separate morning and evening then I could go back to the hotel to get some food - little tip for my fellow travellers.

I stayed at the RTDC Vinayak which was uninspiring but it had beer and I had my first hot shower of the trip - woohoo.

The safari was great it was good to get out in the wild, I saw lots of birds, deer, antelopes, monkeys and boars but no bloody tiger!!!! I guess its just down to luck and I didn't have any on the day. The park consists of 400 square miles and there are 32 tigers so they are difficult to spot. The guide said the best time to
A kingfisherA kingfisherA kingfisher

Named after a great beer:-)
come is April/May as the vegetarian is less so you can see better and the tigers cluster round the waterholes.

Despite most of the Indians associated with the tourist trade being merciless in the quest for your money the average Joe is very nice. After being conned on a rickshaw ride in Ranthambore the previous day I decided to walk in to town and back the following day. After I had been walking a couple of mins a guy on a motorbike stopped and offered me a lift into town and on the way back I got 2 other lifts as well.

Next day on to Agra


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Holy ManHoly Man
Holy Man

This guy gave me a string bracelet that seems to be cutting off the blood supply to my hand:-)


Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 16; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0745s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb