Filed School is Over


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
November 26th 2007
Published: November 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Jaipur palaceJaipur palaceJaipur palace

Me and Kristen
Hello everyone!

Sorry I have neglected the India blog, but since Dharamsala in mid October to the end of the program today, I have been outrageously busy. I finished all my coursework, though - thank god. I didn't think I was going to be able to do it, but it's done. Yay me!

It's been over two months since I've been in India, and in some ways it has flown by, but I've also done so much and come so far since leaving Vancouver.

The field school has been such a rich experience, and I have learned so much. From my wonderful homestay family with Aunty and Uncle who really are like family now, to my amazing classmates and teacher from whom I've learned so much about Canadian culture and being human, to the crazy sights and sounds and smells of Northern India, the whole experience so far has been awsome.

But as much as I love Field School, I'm so glad it's over! This morning I flew the coup and am on my own now with my two friends Kristen and Caitlin in Jodhpur, Rajasthan. Now for the adventure! We are getting on a train tonight to Jaisalmere (Western Rajasthan), where we'll book our camel trek. Then back to Jodhpur, then to Delhi to pick up Jamie! Yay!!

We get back from Rajasthan(state) to Delhi(city) on December 3. Then the rest of the trip will be:

Dec 4 Jamie arrives in Delhi

Dec 5-7 Varanasi, the holiest and maybe craziest of cities in India

Dec 8-10 open...not sure yet, maybe visit Aunty and Uncle

Dec 11 fly from Delhi to Mumbai (Bombay)

Dec 12 train from Mumbai to Aurangabad for Ajanta and Ellora cave temples

Dec 15 train from Aurangabad to Mumbai...Bollywood and Chowpatti Beach

Dec 18 train from Mumbai to Goa...Beaches!

Dec 21 fly from Goa to Kerela...Christmas on a houseboat

Dec 27 2 day train from Kerela to Delhi (South tip to capital city in the North)

Jan 2 fly from Delhi to Vancouver... Home!


So, this is a little note on what I think about India so far... I don't think it's the truth, but it's what I think right now:

India is not immune to the West and is not undeveloped - it's more like multi-developed. There are
Mosque in SikiriMosque in SikiriMosque in Sikiri

I remembered this place from a dream
fancy restaurants and roadside dabbas; expensive cars, cycle rickshaws, cows and tractors all sharing the same street. I've never seen so many Benetton and Lacoste in my life. People talk on their cell phones while riding their bikes, and I drank two cappuccinos tonight at dinner. It's a world of contrasts here. It's the old world and the new living side by side. So, while it is NOT home and what I'm used to, it's not all completely foreign, either. It's not safe to romanticize India, if you ask me. It's spriritual and corrupt and ordinary and extraordinary. Sometimes it's awsome and sometimes it sucks, but it's hard to say it's just one thing.

Okay, well, I hope everyone is happy and healthy and doing well. I love you all and will see you soon.

XOXOX Meghan




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Taj Mahal, AgraTaj Mahal, Agra
Taj Mahal, Agra

View from our hotel
The Taj MahalThe Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal

It is amazing
Diwali festivitiesDiwali festivities
Diwali festivities

Aunty admiring her wine glass with friends
My family in ChandigarhMy family in Chandigarh
My family in Chandigarh

Simran, Yoosun (Top), Channdika, Aunty, Uncle, me


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb