Just to say hello


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
October 9th 2007
Published: October 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

tomato flower candletomato flower candletomato flower candle

Dad, you can make this, right?
Hello everyone!

I've added a few more important people to my blog. Hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving. I was eating Chicken Tikka and naan bread with fresh lime soda over the Canadian holiday. Special note to Dad: my meal was served with a tomato garnish cut into the shape of a flower and lit up as a candle. I took a picture so you can re-create it for the reception!

Our group was in Amritsar this weekend visiting the Golden Temple. Holy cow! The temple itself is really amazing, and actually made of gold. This is a Sikh holy site, somewhat akin to Mecca for Muslims. The city of Amritsar was not what I'd call beautiful, but we stayed in a lovely little guest house with a garden and a swimming pool. Before we went into the Golden Temple, we visited another historical site on the way, and it was the most strange and trying experience in India so far. I guess many people were from villages and tourists themselves. So, our group of students, especially white girls like myself, attracted a lot of attention. It could have simply been curiosity, or it could have been mal intent, but the behaviour was a bit terrifying. Groups of men were coming up close, taking pictures and swarming around, and some actually followed us into the Temple. It was so strange. But fear not, my little mum, I am safe and well! Our group is very close and we all watch out for each other. This is all part of the cultural learning process. We talked about it as a group and mulled it over. Actually, I feel a bit more confident now having gone through that experience.

My host family in Chandigarh is so wonderful, I couldn't have been more blessed. Aunty and Uncle take very good care of us girls. I am eating so well! It's mostly vegetarian, and the Indians know how to do it right.

Okay, I have to go. I love you all.

ox Meghan

PS
Thank you Judy and Susan for my St.Christopher necklace. He is doing a good job so far.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb