The Golden Triangle, a photo log


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
August 4th 2007
Published: September 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I do hope you enjoy all these photos that log my journey from Delhi to Jaipur, out to Pushkar and onto Agra then to arrive back in Delhi to chill. It was a long long week with many hours spent on a rickety local bus squashed up against people Id rather not be squashed up against, but seeing as I almost got murdered when I tried to ride the train, or at least seriously screwed by some fake porter trying to rip me off and then most likely the officials for not having a proper ticket, before getting blessedly saved by a sweet young man who firstly declared himself to be a med student so that I would listen to him and not any of the other people who were hassling me, well the bus wasnt half bad! And I didnt have to deal with the disturbing but alluring hermaphrodite population who send shivers down my spine as they beg for their living, a rejected unrecognized people. But the journeys paid off as I got to meet a strange array of colourful characters who I would never have come across if I hadnt been alone. Like the Japanese lady who admired my skirt as I admired hers which ended in the most coincidental evening in Pushkar. I ended up with this girl, who had lived in miami and San Francisco and now in Bankok, quite crazy Japanese lady working on her second book on astrology and what not. Anyways we ended up both looking for the same cafe, which I would not have found without her and which she would not have looked for without me, and I had forogtten my wallet, which I never do! so she paid and came back to my palace with me where we just happened to run into this nutty Italian woman, who just happens to live in Trinidad... island woman! and who lives at the hotel half of the year running a school for gypsy girls with this very good looking brahmin guy from Pushkar. The Japanese girl was looking for the Italian woman, but had no idea how to find her except through some random shop owner she had met earlier that day, and well I was looking for some thing in Pushkar that wasnt a hokey tourist trap or something I would see back in santa cruz, and enter Deepu the handsome brahmin aura reader! Whoooo that was a mouthful! well, I hope it made sense. Or atleast gave a little peek into the random chaotic trip I had!

I love you all and hope that you enjoy the photos, and I am very sorry for those of you who have sloooowww computers but you better appreciate it because this took me FOREVER! Pushkar Peace and Love!


Additional photos below
Photos: 66, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Two Stree BoysTwo Stree Boys
Two Stree Boys

Two very sweet street boys who played a part, as themselves, in the play put on by Jamghat about important issues facing life on the streets in Delhi.
All dressed upAll dressed up
All dressed up

the girls favorite pass time.... dressing me up! It was actually very flattering how much they appreciated it when I wore their traditional dress. And I have to say they have it down right for that weather!! Cool and practical and quite goregous and flattering!!
Jamghat Opening preparationsJamghat Opening preparations
Jamghat Opening preparations

My host Sonal and a friend working on the opening decorations for the Jamghat play.
Me and Street kidMe and Street kid
Me and Street kid

So sweet and I felt very cool that they were interested in spending some time with me even though they were stars in the play!
Scene from PlayScene from Play
Scene from Play

Drugs, rape, political corruption and the sad story of life on the streets for the poor youth in Delhi. But these talented and enthusiastic young actors/activists managed to get across their messsage with plenty of humour and laughs as well as tears, regardless of the fact that I dont speak a word of hindi!!
Beautiful Friends!Beautiful Friends!
Beautiful Friends!

Vasu and Sonal (the two in the bottom left) my gracious hosts and two of their fab friends, wonderfully beautiful women who made my stay in Delhi more than I could have imagined!
A friend from home!A friend from home!
A friend from home!

Sir Davy himself and me!! We arrived at the exact same time to meet each other in the middle of Delhi, Inida. Id say it was pretty freakin cool!
Humayans TombHumayans Tomb
Humayans Tomb

My only real tourist visit while in Delhi, two busy eating yummy things and shopping and dancing with my girls!
A view from the TombA view from the Tomb
A view from the Tomb

You could carry an empty frame around India with you and never fail for a perfect shot.
Light and TombLight and Tomb
Light and Tomb

I just cant believe I am trying to show this to you all through photos! and I cant even begin to try and choose from my hundreds!!
Mamma Chef!Mamma Chef!
Mamma Chef!

One of the many welcoming family members who cared for me. Woman can cook! The best thing was the little balls of fried dough soaked in sweet syrup that I helped myself to more than enough of AND the lunch she packed for my long bus journey to Jaipur
On the road to JaipurOn the road to Jaipur
On the road to Jaipur

I wish I could have taken photos of the bus and the people all crammed in there with me, lots of sweat but I must say the views and the breeze were most pleasurable!
The Pink CityThe Pink City
The Pink City

Not as comfortable being back in the tourist shoes without my girl friends to run around with, very busy and crowded and you cant admire all the pretty things they sell all over with out being quite hassled. I think the samosa vendor thought I was nuts as well when I bought my lunch from him, right off the street, not very tourist like! haha


30th September 2007

Lovely fotos
...and really witty write ups! enjoyed reading all your captions! love the "A door fit for a queen". I was there in March ... you've captured the scene so much better then I have. It brings beautiful memories for me seeing your pictures. Happy travelling !
30th September 2007

Tessa, i love your photos and hearing about all your wonderful adventures!! can't wait to see what else you get up to. love you!! x x x
3rd October 2007

Dear Tessa Love your photos - what a brilliant treat!! You look wonderful and love your commentary......its all great! Looking forward to the next one.....one love inansi

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb