and a few other random things I wanted to tell you


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Punjab » Chandigarh
April 6th 2008
Published: April 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

1. The bathrooms are disgusting!! Imagine the worst gas station bathroom you've ever seen and multiply times 100!! and there's never any toilet paper, I now carry a roll in my purse. Also you have no idea what I went through trying to find toilet paper at the stores. It's probably easier to find black tar heroin at the vatican then toilet paper in India.
2. We drink buffalo milk and we are strict vegitarians. We hardly ever use silverwear and napkins are as readily as available as toilet paper. Instead we scoop up our food with chibattis (unleavened bread) served at every meal.
3. I can bathe my entire body, facial exfoliation and cleanse, shampoo, condition plus shave legs with 7 gallons of h20. Laura can do it in 5 gallons.
4. Tide the laundry detergent, makes a bar of soap that you can wash your laundry with.
5. If you don't have a dirt floor in your house then you have a marble floor. Marble is mined in India and EVERYTHING is marble! It's gorgeous!! Our house is marble everything including the patio.
6. Electricity goes off scheduled from 10am to 12 noon daily, and unscheduled randomly throughout the day.
7. A liter of petrol costs 48 rupies.
8. They actually have a driving school here!!! This one just blows my mind!! What do they teach these people at Indian driving shool? Drive as fast as possible as close to the car in front of you as possible and beep the horn the entire time, 2 lanes can be made into 6 and if there's a bus in front of you wait until a blind corner to pass it!! I swear I saw a 10 year old driving a truck yesterday.
9. A turban is 7 meters of cloth!!


Advertisement



7th April 2008

Toilet paper
Yeah, I forgot to tell you about that when I saw you at the hospital. Always a good idea to keep a roll of toilet paper in your backpack or purse when traveling in India, Africa or the Middle East. Glad your having a great time. Keep having fun adventures :). Looks like from your photos that you have discovered the wonderful hospitality of the Sikhs :-). They were always so friendly to me when I was in Calcutta. Have a fabulous day! Take care and God bless you mightily.
7th April 2008

what a great trip!!!
dear adrienne, now that i have mastered how to get to you blog, i really am enjoying your notes. it really sounds like the trip of a lifetime. stay safe and have a wonderful time. love, auntie mel
8th April 2008

snake charmer...that's hilarious.
Hi Adrienne!!! I have been keepin up, don't worry about that. Although I enjoy the pics tremendously...I think you're an outstanding writer. I've been very much enjoying the blog. I got your card Saturday, ( : thank you! I wish I was there with you. It seems incredible...now you know what being a rockstar is like, right? Miss you! I have to go...much love - Mick

Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0694s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb