Amritsar & Jaipur - Patriotic,Royal and pilgrimage Tour


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Punjab » Amritsar
August 24th 2014
Published: August 24th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Though the preliminary arrangements of hotel booking was done well in advance, there was an excitement in my mind on 16 Aug 2014 when I was sitting in the Chennai airport Lounge waiting for Indian Airlines flight heading for Delhi. The flight took off at the right time at 6:40 AM. After asking for the windows seat and enjoying the take off sitting besides the wings, the breakfast was served after one hour. The flight landed at the Delhi airport before which I took a nap around 9:15. After completing the formalities I went to the designated gate for catching the Amritsar flight. The flight took off around 1:00 and reached at 2:00. A light refreshment was provided on board. I immediately booked a cab at the airport and drove straight to the hotel and checked in. The plan was to visit the Wagah border daily ceremony. Took the same cab and reached the border around 4 PM. Mind you the journey form city to border would take half an hour. The ceremony started around 6.30 for which the people were present at 3 itself. The gallery was completely full and I sat in a very small place. It was a nearly a stampede near me and the BSF were apathetic to it. With all the patriotic songs being played at the background, the atmosphere was lit with patriotism. After watching the heart throbbing ceremony ,I reached the hotel around 9.30. The city witnessed an unprecedented traffic as there was a three day holiday. After finishing off the dinner, I slept.

Next morning I hired an auto and went to Jallianwala Bagh and mourned for the innocent souls and went to Golden Temple. Had Prasad at the authorised counter, had breakfast and returned to the hotel. Around 5 in the evening, went to Amristsar junction to catch the train to Jaipur. The train started late by 25 minutes and reached the next day at Jaipur at 8.15 AM. I booked the RTDC ticket for Jaipur local sight seeing which cost me around Rs 350. The pink city is full of palaces, museums and forts. Jaipur is collection of monuments. The day was extremely tiresome and I needed rest desperately. I slept at the hotel after having dinner on that night.



The following day on 19 August 2014, I visited the Hawa Mahal which was not included in the tour the day before. The building was so airy that my mind did not permit me to move out of that place before two hours. Then I reached the Birla planetarium and finally the Albert hall government museum. The whether was extremely hot and I had a glass of Jaljira pani and Shikanji. Made some purchases while I went for shopping.

Reached the railway station around 5.30 PM and boarded the train at 7.30. After a tedious journey of around forty hours reached back Chennai on 21 August 2014 around 10 AM. This a mixture of patriotic and pilgrimage tour with a royal treatment.


Additional photos below
Photos: 113, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb