A trip to the 'Lake of the Holy Nectar'


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Punjab » Amritsar
September 1st 2008
Published: June 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I left Jaipur as early as five in a chilly morning. I planned to go to New Delhi first and from there to wherever I can be pleased. Upon my arrival I had to decided how I should be spending next twenty days. Initially I had tried to plan a trip to the North of India but the idea of travelling during the cold season put me off.

My train journey was not as comfortable as I wanted. Nevertheless I managed to squeeze myself between an old man and his women. The old man looked tired but he was interested in talking to me. We shared some tea. The old man and woman were heading to Delhi to attend a weeding function. It was a long conversation between three of us and I managed to keep my side of the conversation very limited to three words...ha ji..nahi ji...shukriya ji...

I arrived in New Delhi station to find a crowd of people fighting to get through to the ticket counter. I felt sick having seen the struggle. I went back to see the massive electronic screen which is hanging by the entrance to the train station.

It reads....Train No....2013 - AMRITSAR SHATABDI - NEW DELHI - 15:30 - AMRITSAR JUNCTION - 21:35!

There was a possibility to obtain a ticket to go to North, had I been strong enough to give a good fight and beat the crowd. Instead I went back to the electronic notice board and I decided to take the next available train journey which would hopefully take me away from Delhi.

I successfully managed to get a ticket easily from the foriegn counter which is located a couple of meters far from the crowded counter. I thought myself why all don't these people want to go Amritsar instead as long as it is a train journey and it takes them to somewhere safe.

May be it was the beginning of my lucky day, nobody thought about it yet except some retired old age people. I let all of them to get their tickets. I was not in hurry here. I still have to find some activities around the train station to keep me busy. I had my early lunch at a canteen near the train station and then I went for a look around. There was nothing interesting around this area so I ended up sitting down with my book and sipping piping hot tea.

It was time to get on to the train which will take me to Amritsar.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 18; qc: 98; dbt: 0.0808s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb