The Holy Frontier


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Punjab » Amritsar
October 12th 2007
Published: November 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The City: Amritsar is most famous for The Golden Temple and the extremely friendly locals. Its a frontier city only a few kilometers from Pakistan and has some real good street food.
The Ultimate Advice: Try the Makhaan Lassi (an indian drink) near the Golden Temple. I usually hate Lassi but I decided to try it anyway since Amritsar is famous for its Lassis. I ordered the sweet Lassi which the guy loaded with chunks of butter. That Lassi rocked my world... I spent the next ten minutes in a liquidy buttery heaven for the tastebuds.
The Adventure: My second evening in Amritsar my rickshaw guide told me to visit the Pakistan border, after a 2 hour drive I found myself in a huge arena which was divided into two halves, one in India and the other in Pakistan, I was just in time for a parade between the borders. It was an electrifying experience as both sides engaged in a cheering match trying to sing their patriotic chants the loudest. India clearly won the contest, but we had them badly outnumbered!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

A langaar.A langaar.
A langaar.

A free meal at the temple, no plates or utensils though..
Outside the TempleOutside the Temple
Outside the Temple

it was a religious holiday, hence the crowd.
My Amritsari GuideMy Amritsari Guide
My Amritsari Guide

He showed me around city and took me to best eating places, this kind auto-rickshaw driver really made my stay more enjoyable
At a hindu templeAt a hindu temple
At a hindu temple

these kids insisted that I take a picture of them.
The sign says it allThe sign says it all
The sign says it all

I look a bit concerned..
The pakistani sideThe pakistani side
The pakistani side

The white arena beyond the gate is the pakistani side.
Jallianwala BaghJallianwala Bagh
Jallianwala Bagh

The infamous garden where innocent people were gunned down by the British rule.


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0223s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb