Drunken Drivers and the Dalai Lama


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Mcleod Ganj
October 10th 2007
Published: November 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My Monks and I..My Monks and I..My Monks and I..

I volunteered to teach conversational english to the local monks, these monks fled Tibet at a very young age and have not seen their families since
After an overnight train to Pathankot from Delhi and a 5 hour bus ride up to Mcleod Ganj I finally arrived at the Tibetan Refuge in the Himalayas.
I stayed at the HPTDC guest house dorms (real cheap)

The city: Mcleod Ganj is a backpacker's paradise with plenty of shops, eateries, travel companies, trekking companies, internet cafes, hotels, and plenty to do.
The ultimate advice:While in the city don't waste a moment's time, there is always plenty to do. Take a yoga or meditation class, volunteer with monks, watch a documentary on tibetan buddhism, taste the local cuisine, go to a sufi music concert and you could also learn hypnotherapy!
The adventure: After coming back late from a sufi concert I found out that my dorms were actually drivers' quarters! I returned to my room to find three drivers merrily having a drinking session in my room, they graciously offered me some booze and what ensued a few drinks later has to be one of the most bizarre/awkward nights of my life. The next morning I woke up early and heard that the Dalai lama was giving some lectures at the monastery, I spent the morning listening to his lectures
A not so bright ideaA not so bright ideaA not so bright idea

This is what you get for 100 rupee dorms
(he's actually a pretty funny guy), I had experienced the extremes the city had to offer on my first day there!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

these guys really hate the chinese, can you tell?
Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

Mcleod Ganj is a collection of such streets.
Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

no idea what he is thinking
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

A local market
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

found a perfect spot for introspection
After a strenuous trekAfter a strenuous trek
After a strenuous trek

Finally the Dauladhar Range, well worth the 4 hour trek.


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0241s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb