The Inaugural Annual Indian Overload Awards – 2011


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Orissa » Bhubaneswar
March 7th 2011
Published: March 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This is the first of what one would hope would become an annual event of some repute. The awards for the best overloads in India.

First let us start with the rules, the first of which is illustrated by my first picture:

1. You must break the rule about not overloading your vehicle!
2. Each overloaded vehicle must remain upright for the duration of the current journey, or else face disqualification.
3. The judge’s (that’s me) decisions are final – no correspondence will be entered into.
4. On the payment of 10,000 rupees, rule number 3 will be revised.

Now let me say at the outset that this inaugural year’s competition has been very hard to judge – there have been so MANY entries. However, I should also add that there are a couple of non-entries. These are instances of excellent overloads where the author either failed to have a camera available OR was just not quick enough to capture said overload. Apologies to those entrants – what can I say? Only to give a special mention here:

Firstly, to the two gentlemen spotted crossing a busy intersection on two separate bicycles with a long (4 meter)
Best adaptation CategoryBest adaptation CategoryBest adaptation Category

For turning one's overload into a shop
bamboo ladder mounted on their respective shoulders: well done – great effort. Had I had my camera and been quick enough I feel confident that you would have blitzed the ‘Just plain stupid’ category. Please reapply in 2012.

Secondly, to the two guys on the motorbike with the pillion passenger carrying, intact and plumbed, a four sink come wash basin assembly – very well done. Totally out of the ordinary, appropriately very dangerous. I think had I captured this one, you would have had a new category all to yourself and won outright: The ‘total innovation’ category.

Enough said – please sit back, view the pictures and the category sub-titles, and enjoy!

AND THE WINNERS ARE.............

PLEASE NOTE: there are 32 winners and you have to click the page tabs to get to page 2 of the pics OK?

Acknowledgments:
1. Carolina who took many 'overload' pictures from the back of Gladys (the Enfield) at my instruction "OVERLOAD APPROACHING!".
2. Mark Takefman (Marcus ji) for the loan of entry of the "Most babies on a bike" picture - taken by him in Barmar Rajasthan.
Thankyou



Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Best brown box CategoryBest brown box Category
Best brown box Category

Just for the stack. Good effort here!
Beat camouflage CategoryBeat camouflage Category
Beat camouflage Category

Very good disguise here.
Best heavy metal CategoryBest heavy metal Category
Best heavy metal Category

just great - good effort here
Best 'don't try and pass me' CategoryBest 'don't try and pass me' Category
Best 'don't try and pass me' Category

Very hard to judge this winner - many contenders.
Best 'I love my job' CategoryBest 'I love my job' Category
Best 'I love my job' Category

This one was just necessary - the overload missed out but hey - what about the joy on this face!
Longest Overload CategoryLongest Overload Category
Longest Overload Category

Many entrants here - had to use the tape measure for the final award
Most babies on a bike CategoryMost babies on a bike Category
Most babies on a bike Category

Only two - yes I know it's beatable but....
Most dangerous overhang CategoryMost dangerous overhang Category
Most dangerous overhang Category

Every competition has its serious side no?
Most colourful CategoryMost colourful Category
Most colourful Category

speaks for itself - beautiful
Runner up Most Colourful CategoryRunner up Most Colourful Category
Runner up Most Colourful Category

What can I say - could not leave this effort out really
Best optimist CategoryBest optimist Category
Best optimist Category

I mean 'come on' - are you joking me?
Most small things CategoryMost small things Category
Most small things Category

These are palm leaf woven baskets - very light - so many can be packed in one load no worries
Best road hog CategoryBest road hog Category
Best road hog Category

This has to be THE most competitive category overall - so very good effort from this guy to take it out
Biggest Cooking Pot CategoryBiggest Cooking Pot Category
Biggest Cooking Pot Category

The judge felt the need to create this special category. What to do?
Best underinsured CategoryBest underinsured Category
Best underinsured Category

Think - TVs, Washing Machines, Microwaves, Computers.... everything possible in India


7th March 2011

My faves
I think my favourites are best camouflage and best optimist (cracked me up - pardon the pun). And I eagerly await the romance blog!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hugs Marguerite
7th March 2011

Fantastic!!!
Oh dude!!! Very good job! You already told me that you had a good idea for this blog! Very funny! It was also funny taking this pictures from the back of Gladys! We can repeat when you want! ;)
7th March 2011

nomination
This was enjoyable and having just come back from Bangkok myself where I saw several dodgy overloads, nothing compares with this display! I like the most cooking pots overload followed by the most colourful. Our Ute effort with lone cattle dog tethered seem lame in comparison.
8th March 2011

Enjoyed this blog Paul!
8th March 2011

Hahahaha..
Mr. Mahadev strikes again !!! funny and entertaining..wonder i see them everyday but never noticed every overloader like u did. ;) and have u ever come across a truck filled with steel bars hanging out from it.It would be the best contender for Dangerous overhang category !!
15th March 2011

Enjoyed your post Paul! Hope all's well. I miss all these crazy road rules.
20th March 2011

my vote goes to..............
I loved 'most cows in truck'; 'most optomistic'; and 'most babies' categories but then 'where to sit' category and 'I love my job' and 'most colourful' also need votes as do.......... . An inspired salute to the adveture of the local lifestyle in India. catch you, cheers Annette
2nd April 2011

One of my favourite passtimes too
I have a most live ducks on a bike entry - will email

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.1256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb