Did anyone get the number of that truck?


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Orissa » Bhubaneswar
April 14th 2010
Published: April 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hospital No. 1Hospital No. 1Hospital No. 1

This is the first stop we went to via the kindness of a neighbour who drove me and my NGO supervisor Sarita - unfortunately they only dealt with cardiac patients and we had to order an ambulance to another hospital.
OR.... A funny thing happened to me on my way back from the FRO:

So what did your mummy tell you about crossing the road? I’m sure it involved being a lot more mindful and careful than my practice around 2pm on April the 13th outside my place at Salashree Vihar in Bhubaneswar, Odisha (Orissa), India.

So… I had just returned from a futile trip to the Foreign Registration Office (part of the Deputy Commissioner of Police Office) trying to collect my Residency Permit. “It’ll be ready - for sure - on Tuesday”, said the nice man last Friday. Ah - but come Tuesday “it’s not yet signed” says he - come back Friday!

I caught the usual number of share auto rickshaws back home (3 to be sure - it’s a matter of hopping from one crossroad to another unless you happen to strike it lucky and get aboard one that happens to be going ALL the way). It had to be at least 40 degrees C and a tad hot to have 7 crammed aboard vehicles that are really only designed to seat 4.

But I digress. I got off across the road from home.
Waiting for the surgeonWaiting for the surgeonWaiting for the surgeon

Lying now in the final hospital casualty area - still bleeding down the back of my head - and skin lain back in place.
This is not a major road so there are no line markings (not that line markings mean anything too much in India). It certainly is not a wide enough road to warrant a large bus doing the usual i.e. overtaking smaller vehicles willy nilly and applying the Indian road principle that says “If I am bigger than you - move over now!”. I know this principle - and I certainly understand by now that the pedestrian is the lowest of the low on the pecking order here.

But….. having seen the bus overtaking down the road - I hurried across the road and proceeded to walk on the edge of the road (rather than the hot dusty sand/dust besides the road) - facing the same way that the bus was traveling. It’s at this point that I was not being mindful at all! A truck approached (opposite direction to the bus) - seemingly with room to spare for me - but of course he veered towards me as the bus completed it’s over-take to avoid collision with said bus.

I got swiped by what I can only presume was the truck’s side mirror (can’t say I had much
Staples are for paper surely?Staples are for paper surely?Staples are for paper surely?

This is me after the staples were applied - so you miss out on the really gory shots where half my scalp was hanging down etc... Sorry!
time to tell). Blood gushing - I applied my trusty Gumsha (sp?) - local variation of a very useful scarf - and after shouting after the truck who stopped for 10 secs down the road and then drove on!! - rushed inside (feeling slightly giddy and realizing that having one’s head bashed and cut open can be serious business indeed) to seek assistance from the office (which is attached at the front street).

The rest is now history - pics attached tell some of the story.

This was of course a big event! No sooner had I arrived at Casualty in a local private hospital (by Ambulance) with my NGO supervisor than her daughter, the 3 NGO office staff, and three staff from the community based orgs that I am working with - all turn up. Followed of course by calls from others who could not be there - then calls from VSO Delhi and AVI in Melbourne - and then 3 other VSO volunteers as well. Enough for a rock concert really!

I think I had three or four staples applied to get things back in place - then received about 6 local anesthetic needles in
Party anyone?Party anyone?Party anyone?

Here the cast of thousands who attended and self are all waiting while this otherwise seemingly efficient hospital argued about whether I could be placed in a "luxury" room given that all the "budget" rooms were full. I was by the way but it took about 20 mins - and not impressed having to sit around in a wheel chair for that long but hey - at least I had a seat!
my head and a rather large pain-killer jab in the but before what I can only hope was a very competent surgeon (and he seemed competent enough from where I was lying) stitched me up. I ended up with 16 stitches and my first ever overnight stay in a hospital not counting when I was born (for observation understandably).

The plan was that someone “had” to stay the night in the room with me to make sure I was fine - I protested and had a very peaceful night alone (other than the world over practice of being woken by nursing staff at ungodly hours - asked if you are OK - and then told to try and get some sleep!!!!).

Anyway - managed to retain both arms and legs and other vital bits. Head will no doubt heal with a slight scar. Back home again now and all is well other than me feeling a tad sheepish about my lack of mindfulness in crossing the road (sorry mum!).

Just for those interested: the total cost of the treatment and overnight in the private hospital was around 12,000 rupees (about Aus$300). Of this - about 4,000 was
Back home againBack home againBack home again

Next day and back home with nothing to show but a new head dress and probably a scar - it's HOT and I only have fans - hm..... maybe I could feign concussion and get another night in the A/C luxury room!
for the room itself - which apart from the ‘to be expected’ non-attention to small detail around plumbing and hooks and mats - was air conditioned, had a TV, and had decent meals supplied. Had a really good nights sleep as it turned out (probably drug induced to some extent I expect).


Advertisement



14th April 2010

Are you sure they put everything back in?
Paul, glad to know that in the end you will live to drive to the mountains later this year. Now pay attention!
14th April 2010

Speedy recovery
We wish you a speedy recovery, Paul. Should we send you your bike helmet from Oz, just in case? xxjj
15th April 2010

You are so lucky! It could have been much worse. I am amazed you didn't pass out on impact - you Aussies are made of sturdy stuff :) Take care , now rest and recupe.
15th April 2010

I love a scar!
My word but you're lucky they didn't finish the job. Still you can always call it a duelling scar - you know how much the girls love a hero. "Well young lassie, I may have this scar, but you should see the truck!". I'm glad you're OK.
17th April 2010

Did it have a number?
I think I read somewhere that pedestrians count for most of the fatalities on Indian roads so your literal brush with death is perhaps not surprising. Did you have your pakol on to buffer the impact? Maybe you should go to China where pedestrians and cyclists are on the top of the food chain! (well at least for now until everyone else gets cars) Facial scarring makes for such good travel stories, I've only had a sweeping blow from a taxi in Cairo that didn't even leave a mark so no explicit stories or evidence to go with that one. Motor bike still looking interesting?? Dave gave an interesting account of trying to transfer money to you and the local banks reluctance to part with your hard earned to such an unreliable destination where the dosh seems to go interestingly and unaccountably missing. Ravi was very intent on telling everyone how good the hospitals are in India now and when I said to Chandra that all the best Doctors come from India he said,"I'm not so sure about that!" Reassured?
17th April 2010

another adventure in india...
Nicely gory pics! Good to know you're getting a chance to check out the medical services in India - perhaps not the best way to do it. Hope you haven't ended up with a shocking headache after that. You sound very calm about the whole experience but it must have been pretty scary. You'll end up with a great scar - an indelible momento of this year of big adventure. love the blog. Rosie
18th April 2010

Oh no!
Hi Paul, Hope you're ok - sounds like quite an ordeal! I hope everything else is going smoothly over there. Hope you have a great birthday tomorrow! Larissa.
19th April 2010

Ohh my god Paul
Wow what a story we are all very worried about you here. How are you healing?
19th April 2010

What some people will do for attention?
Glad to hear you are on the mend Paul and thank you for sparing us the 'gore' shots. It all still looks fairly impressive though. Seriously though, so pleased it turned out to be much better than it could have been. Take special care. Mega hugs from Nepal Marguerite PS - I luv the new head dress - it makes you look like one of the docs from MASH - although maybe you're too young to remember that show.
20th April 2010

**^#^*^^!!bloody hell*^*#*!!
whoops so now you'll be staying alert and ever so slightly alarmed. look forward to reading more. scar will be impressive. work sounds inspiring and demanding I'm sur eyou'll make it work for them and for you are there photos of your house and your village catch up soon Annette x
20th April 2010

Crikey !!
A bit late to join my club, mate! Take good care of that and don't go getting any infections!! Thinking of you.
25th April 2010

See you are getting into the swing of things!
Hi Paul - I can see by your pics that you are throwing yourself into life in India including checking out the health system first hand. Now that you have bought a motorbike, you may have many more such experiences! Glad to read that your sense of humour is in tact and it seems everthing is going well. I enjoy reading about your adventures. Keep the blog going - it's terrific. Take care, Rita
26th April 2010

Hi there, What are you doing to yourself ?? Have you noticed that there seems to be some issue with any association between you and trying to secure the necessary papers to either get to India or remain there! 16 stitches ouch!I hope you are fully recovered. Just taking time to read through your blog. Sounds like you have had some great adventures so far and finally what you went for .... work. Take care D
22nd May 2010

Character Building
Character building scars make for impressive storytelling. Lucky it was your head, now you ahve something to blame if you start to do eratic things while you are there. Cheers Chuck

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb