dillydallying in dehli


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
September 13th 2011
Published: September 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

so im kinda doing nothing. some people would say im wasting my days given that i have been here since saturday and have not yet seen any landmarks whatsoever...but im kinda happy just cruising. i dont feel that i need to tick off any list of sites that one must visit.. it just doesnt feel important to me. i do want to visit the Kali temple tomorrow at the very least but im really happy just people watching, observing social interactions, having some time on my own to chill, write, read, wander and reflect.
so im in the paharganj area now, staying on the main bazaar, in amongst the crazy which is really fun.. big change from the elitist gated communities in which i have stayed the previous days. im back in the hectic vibe. such a contrast from the hauz kauz (sp?) village, home to upmarket stores, an artist hub, which would be indistinguishable from a similar area in melbourne or sydney. maybe still less commercial because it is only starting to become popular so its kinda cool and underground still.. got a photo of some nice graf in the back alley.. bought a VERY expensive hand made one off handbag.
VERY BAD.
i made a decision before i came overseas not to shop and have done pretty well.. this whole time i have almost not bought anything at all..but as i approach the end of my time here i am find it increasingly challenging to hold myself back from buying cool stuff to take home but i have faith.. i will really try not to buy anything. i just feel like it is necessary for me to refrain from being a slave to my desire to consume... is my life really going to be richer, more enjoyable with these added purchases?

now that i have sorted this situation, i can retrospectively dob myself in and let you all know that i ran out of money. so my advice is, as much as it is a pleasant experience to be irresponsible and altogether avoid keeping track of your spending or bank balance it might not be the wisest thing to do because you could get stuck without any money. i was fine because i am so taken care of and as always so blessed and my beautiful friend leant me some money but its probably preferable to always at least hvae a little extra cash in the bottom of your bag or something.

for anyone who might have been worried i am no longer as skinny as a rake i am back to at least 52 or 53kg (havent weighed myself im going by my clothes). the food is so great. i have a new soul sister who is as obsessed with food as i am. she is a chef as well and an amazing inspiring beautiful wise being. she also has recently launched her own restaurant so anyone who comes to dehli if you want an amazing sth east asian feed you have to visit her joint.

listened to live music tonight at a cafe, a nigerian dude playing drum and an indian guy on guitar playing covers. it was nice, i sang along pretty loud.. am really missing my ipod. starting to get the shakes just thinking about how good it would feel to be able to listen to my own music.. even for like ten minutes. I WANT A NEW IPOD but am not going to buy one because i need to make sure i have enough money for the rest of my trip.

as much as i am enjoying travelling i am starting to feel a little bit excited about coming home. i will likely regret saying this and want to retract it.. but maybe not. i think that im just super excited about all the things im going to do when i come home..
i have so many things to say but its 11.45pm and i want to wake up at 5.30am to practice yoga and meditation so its definitely high time i got myself out of this internet cafe and back to my dicey little hotel room for some shut eye.

om shanti
xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0845s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb