STONEY FULFILMENT


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Madhya Pradesh » Orchha
March 22nd 2014
Published: March 25th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Betwa River Orchha Betwa River Orchha Betwa River Orchha

Sorry Betwa - I will one day return your lovely rock to your shores - just borrowing for now x
Orchha
March 16th 2014



“Rivers are roads that walk and carry where you want to go”
Blaise Pascal

“..To be on your own
With no direction home
Like a complete unknown
Like a rolling stone”
Bob Dylan

The river Betwa flows lazily through Orchha in Madhya Pradesh, dropping polished stones on its banks. While taking a sunrise bath, I chance upon and pick up a small stone, place it back, pick it up again, feel it feeling me, how it fits so snug and right somehow in my hand, its cool and smooth surface against my skin; and decide that here is the perfect travel companion for making my morning chai. Beb had given me this simple idea while travelling together in Gujarat weeks earlier, but we had not found quite the right rock.

It's so simple – a small rock to crush and grind your spices on a hard surface in any guest house room or hotel. I had already (again thanks to Beb) equipped myself with all the essentials for preparing the first chai of the morning. I had previously gone out into the dark morning of any city or town in which I happened to be staying, in search of a chai stall – but not always with success or satisfaction, specially as my waking hour seems to have gotten earlier and earlier. And besides, I preferred herbal and spice tea first thing to sugary milk tea of unsure quality found in the market.

My favourite is Green Tea with honey, fresh lime juice, ginger and a mix of either/or pepper, cinnamon, cloves and cardamom.

The stone also serves as a sharpener for my little utility knife that is essential to any travel kit.

So.... just a simple thing. So simple. So nice. Its often the small and simple things that bring a smile to one's face in those mundane daily rituals that we indulge in. And rituals are a comfort, no? Its part of being on the spectrum. And each time I pick up my little stone I think of Orchha, the Betwa, and Beb. How nice is that?

Note: there is a blog on Orchha from November 2011 for anyone interested in this place. Or contact author.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



25th March 2014

My favourite is Green Tea with honey, fresh lime juice, ginger and a mix of either/or pepper, cinnamon, cloves and cardamom.
Yep, I could go with those as amongst my favourite flavours. I'm not in a very good "space" (as the jargon goes) at the moment, having been told that the damage to my ulnar nerve ("funny bone") seems to be permanent i.e. irreversible with the consequence that I have no control over the 4th and 5th digits of my right hand. So I have to get pleasure by osmosis regarding new and interesting experiences, which is why, perhaps, I get so much pleasure from your blog (in addition to the fact that you write well and photograph well, and both of these are interests of mine.) Our 3rd grandchild is due 2nd April. With Natalie coming 3.5 weeks early, and Daniel being induced because he was overdue, their is absolutely no reliability in regard to due date. Thanks for sharing your experiences.
26th March 2014

You are actually doing something that we Indians have forgotton. I have seen my grandmother and mother use stone to grind masala, ginger, coriander and mint to make chutney and the flavour of the food used to be different. Thanks Paul for reminding me of the old days.
27th March 2014

Love the stone
and relieved you actually have a travel kitchen!! Heard all about the upcoming Greek trip - WOW

Tot: 0.394s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 86; dbt: 0.2538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb