Poetry in motion...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Trivandrum
June 29th 2008
Published: June 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

MaduraiMaduraiMadurai

Inside the Sri Meenakshi Temple
I'm walking a land named Tamil Nadu,
with lots of things to see and do.
Where people are friendly and people are nice,
the farmers till paddy's, the merchants sell spice!

As days go by, I sigh and I cry,
it's time for a tale, let's give it a try!
A tale about mountains and city's and beaches,
and legends of Kings as history teaches.

W'thout further a do, I give you this tale,
this tale that is true, 'bout Tamil Nadu!

I came to a city called Madurai,
and saw a big temple, a temple say I!
I went in this temple, I went to it's shrine,
and offered a blessing, a blessing of mine.

Within the temple, the incense burns,
as faithful pilgrim churns and turns.
An off'ring here, a blessing there,
to Gods of yore, who have no care.

I walk around in afternoon,
'neath sun, in swoon, that is my boon.
T'is time to go, t'is time to leave,
to cooler climes and ease my grief!

I know this place that's in the hills,
called Kodaikanal, it thrills, it chills!
A forest green, a lake sublime,
the chocolate sweet, the setting
MaduraiMaduraiMadurai

Statues of Gods and Goddesses
fine.

The sun arises, I awake,
and walk around the peaceful lake.
I stroll along the winding lanes,
while rolling clouds bring wistful rains.

I gaze upon the setting sun,
while in the distance children run.
I dream of legends strong and grave,
of Kings who battle long and brave!

A tale that tells of King forlorn,
in Ram'shwaram a myth was born.
His wife across the sea was borne,
by evil Lankan King in scorn!


Now it is said and it is sung,
across the sea, the isles were strung.
O'er mighty ocean, wide and deep,
from isle to isle the King did leap!

A battle fought, a battle won,
by Rama King, a Lordly son.
Upon return a temple made,
to thank the gods for islands laid.

To see two seas and ocean meet,
to Comorin must go your feet.
The sun will rise in Bengal's Bay,
in Arab Sea it sets it's rays.

Upon an isle a poet stands,
a statue made by sculptors hands.
The poet comes alive in me,
to write this blog in rhyme to thee!

I know it's sad, I know it's mad,
this
MaduraiMaduraiMadurai

Nandi statue in the temple
poem sucks, it's just so bad!
The time has come to end this tale,
let others try, where I did fail!




Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

MaduraiMadurai
Madurai

Hanuman on one of the pillars
MaduraiMadurai
Madurai

Pavilion in the temple
MaduraiMadurai
Madurai

Lion capitals
MaduraiMadurai
Madurai

Colourful gopuram (a small one that wasn't covered up) in the temple courtyard
MaduraiMadurai
Madurai

But most of the gopurams where covered up for repainting!
MaduraiMadurai
Madurai

Faithful entering the temple
Kodaikanal Kodaikanal
Kodaikanal

View from my window!
KodaikanalKodaikanal
Kodaikanal

My hostel
KodaikanalKodaikanal
Kodaikanal

The lake
KodaikanalKodaikanal
Kodaikanal

Reflections
KodaikanalKodaikanal
Kodaikanal

Cottages along the lake
KodaikanalKodaikanal
Kodaikanal

Could be Europe
RameshwaramRameshwaram
Rameshwaram

Sunset over Rameshwaram
RameshwaramRameshwaram
Rameshwaram

Ramanathaswamy temple
RameshwaramRameshwaram
Rameshwaram

Corridor in the temple
RameshwaramRameshwaram
Rameshwaram

Beach on the way to Adam's bridge
RameshwaramRameshwaram
Rameshwaram

Rameshwaram The end of the line... The sandbank and islands in the back lead to Sri Lanka, about 33 km's away... And if you look very good, you can see some refugees on the island closest to the mainland... Perhaps 50 meters seperating them from me! An Indian Navy vessel picked them up
RameshwaramRameshwaram
Rameshwaram

Me at the end of the world


29th June 2008

Wow
You may have a future in poetry. Keep it up.
30th June 2008

Mr. Kreuze, i am impressed by your poetic ability! nicht schlecht, herr specht.
30th June 2008

Isn't there a poet in all of us? It was nice reading a blog in verse. Good going! And, let me assure you that you are a better poet than I am. ( Believe me, I had to grapple with my ego for about five minutes before I could admit the fact)
30th June 2008

Brilliant
I loved the last two stanzas! I'm always a fan of something slightly different.
30th June 2008

Nice
Hailing from Tamil Nadu, I love it!
1st July 2008

Well done!
To capture the essence of Ramayana in a few lines is commendable. Keep up the good work.
2nd July 2008

Bravo! :o)
very nice poetry...real sweet! wish i could write like that...
3rd July 2008

Oh my Goodness, I so love it!!! Thanks so much!
6th July 2008

Fan club!!!
Hey, you have quite a following of fanatical people, I'm impressed and obviously the poem was cool too. But you're obviously not travelling with a toddler. All that time you have to write poetry!!! Next time I'd like to see a poem written in Dubai with your niece by your side, lol!!! Besos y a pronto.
17th April 2010

http://www.travelblog.org/Topics/23996-1.html
31st January 2011

meenaksshi temple
beautiful,marvellous and lovable photograph by an intelligent and innovative photographer.than you very much because it is you that gave me a look of the great meenakshi temple first time in my life.

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb