Cochin is Awesome!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kochi
June 30th 2007
Published: June 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone, Ben here! I got to talk to Jen yesterday and she let me know that Ev has to have surgery in a few weeks. A little bit more intensive but at least I'll be able to be there with him. I'm sure the others will tell you all about the amazing things we've been doing. The HOPE home for abandoned women was inspiring and heart breaking. A lot of the same women from last time, a few have passed away, a few have joined, and a few more have become disciples. The story that always tears me apart is the woman who's husband brought his mistress home and told her to get out. The only option she had for survival was to continue living in her home and take on the role of maid. When the man died the new wife kicked her out and she couldn't handle the emotional stress. HOPE rescued her from the beggar's home and she is now a Christian.
Sidenote: Please try to send encouragement to all the team members by name if you can. Some of them haven't recieved much (or any) comments or messages. I won't name names, just do your best to encourage everyone.

All the team members are vastly exceeding my expectations! They are so giving and spiritual even when we have been put in some exhausting situations! Again, each church should be so proud of their contributions to this team and welcome them back as seasoned missionaries!

Love to you all,
Ben


Advertisement



30th June 2007

Ahhh, crazy!!!
Just wanted to send a quick note thanking all of you for writing such detailed messages about India....it helps those like me who've never been to share in your wonderful experiences! I read your blog constantly, and I can't wait until you all return safely and share some great curry/naan recipes;) On a side note, love you, Ericka! Would love to hear more from you in the blogs. Take care, much love! Stacey
30th June 2007

Keep up the good work
I am so inspired to hear about all the people you have met and the different ways you helped them. I thought of you all when Alex told me he had to do a speech for a summer class he is taking--the assignment was to share about a personal experience that changed his life, so, of course, he shared about his trip to India 2 years ago! By the way, Ben, did you get the photos that I emailed you of Alex, that you requested? I am sure no one would recognize him now! Keep up the good work, guys! I am sure you will be full of amazing stories when you return. Keep writing--we enjoy hearing about all your adventures. Love YSIC, Luanne B.
1st July 2007

fight the fight
Guys, it is great to hear about what is going on there, not what you are doing but what God is doing through you. It is always hard to know who gets more out of the mission trip, you or the people you visit. I look forward to hearing more great things. Right now it is time to go to Belle Isle for church. Love Bruce and Annabel

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb