Invited people to Church


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kochi
June 30th 2007
Published: June 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I don't want to take up any precious blogging time so I'll just say hi to Jen and Ev. I miss you and love you. We've been able to do some really great things and this morning we just went around the city reaching out to people and inviting them to church tomorrow. We're all feeling a little homesick and gut sick, but at the same time we feel refreshed and ready to take on the world.
Love to all,
Ben


hey family,
things are really moving here in kochi, we went out evengelizing today for our sunday service and it was real encouraging! i was out with saiji, he leads the church here. he is really cool! we had some great conversation with some of the people we shared with. God has been using us since i've been here in india. i did a devotionL at a old age home for abandoned women. it was called the God of all comfort! and on sunday WE ALL are doing the sunday lesson. entitled the kingdom is the cure. a six point lesson one from each of us. i love you stephanie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! kiss the kids for me. and i love you michigan & ohio
in his love
w. damon banks


Greetings Grand Rapids,
As you have been reading, Well are all being used by God in so may ways. Today we had the changes to go out with the brothers and sisters sharing our faith and inviting people to church. Later today we will be going to disciples houses to encourge them. Their are some disciples that are not able to come to church do to illness. Going to their homes is a way that we can contude to encourge them and keep the faith. We will all be doing the sunday lesson. Boy God keeps calling me hire and hire. Last nigt we visited an Old Age home where most of the women are disciples and a couple were able to share with us how God is working in their lives. I am doing well. Let everyone know that I am getting plenty of rest and they are taking Great care of us. I love you all and miss you .
Speical note to Hal I love you and let the all the children know that I say HI and Miss and Love all of them. I hope you are well and taking care of yourself.
BIC
Doureen


Hi All! Ericka here!
First off, I just wanted to thank each of you for your blogging us. It's very encouraging to know that you all are thinking of us. Though, I have yet to receive a personal blog. If someone... anyone ... could volunteer to be my blogging pal, that would be very encouraging😉
So much to share but not enough time to share it all. This missions trip has been extremely faith building for me. Trust me, riding an elephant will increase your faith! Man, that was a beast. Fun but a little nerve wrecking. I'd do it again though. Going ancient chinese fishing was also faith building but in away that it reflects on the scripture of being fishers of men. In fact, sharing my faith in India has never been more encourgaging. In the midst of all the women we reached out to, two women in particular stand out. The two saw us sharing our faith from afar and approached us to hear the Good News! Isn't that amazing! Please pray that they will come to service tomorrow. Love you all!
Ericka ^_^

Hey everyone!! Hi family.
Like I have said a million times before India is wonderful. Its crazy how you have the same church with the same standards and the same songs all the way around the world. You can meet the diciples here once and it seems like you have known them a lifetime. They are all amazing. They have taught memany life lessons too. Such as, serving others. WOW!! can they serve. I am deffinately going to bring that back with me and apply it to my life.
We went and shared our faith this morning in Cochin and had a very positive feed back. I dont know if its because we are American or if they are truely interested in finding God. But either way as long as they are led to the Lord its all that matters. As long as they get to church, no matter their motives, they are still able to hear the message and Im positive it will move them and they will want to come back.
Tomorrow the lesson is going to be a little different than normal. Ben wanted to do a lesson on How the bible cures different things. So each one of us picked a topic, mine is the bible is the cure for complaining, and we will individually go up and preach to the church. So if you could all pray for me that would be awesome. Getting up in front of LARGE groups is challenging.
Anyways mom im supposed to be there on July 15 so im guessing ill leave the 14th. Oh and there is a fitness center here so i have been running and doing abs and pushups already so tell coach im trying my best to stay in shape.
Kim tell dad thank you for the card and I will try to visit as soon as I can to tell you stories and to show pictures.
I love you all!!
Autumn

To my church family in Holy Toledo. Karin I miss you and your family it truly made my day that you wrote to me in India. Thank you Monica for writing. Well we are in Cochin which is in the beautiful state of Kerala. The scenery and mountains are amazing to see. Yesterday, We went to visit a sister at the hospital. She is suffering from back pain. Her name is Me too, and she had a smile that lit up the room when we were there. She sang a song for us. It was so heartfelt and pretty. Her family is struggling financially, so the members of the mission team pitched in to give her money. She turned around and gave a hundred rubies back to the church for contribution. We visited another sister who recently had a baby girl, and I was able to hold it. Today we went evangelizing on the streets of Cochin. I went with Sheba who is the womens' ministry Leader in Cochin. We were able to meet her friend Ronni at her job. Ronni is a woman who Sheba has reaching out to for almost two years. Ronni has studied the Bible, but has not become a Christian yet. I was inspired by Sheba's faith to persevere and be persistent with Ronni. I was able to share a passage from the Bible with Ronni. I can't wait to hear from Sheba that Ronni has become a disciple. Katey, Ericka and I were able to share scriptures and sing a song to the woman who stopped coming to Church in Coimbatore. Katey, we also did a group prayer before she had to go back to work. The Bible just seems to come to life here in India because of the amazing Christian Walks of our Indian Brothers and Sister. It is wonderful to see the unity and sense of family among the Mission Team Members and the churches here even though were from separate parts of the world. Brett thanks for eating that cheeseburger for us. Bye for now!
From, Cindy lovin' the Jesus in India Lou Who?!
Cindy


Advertisement



30th June 2007

Keep up the good work in the Lord..
Hey Mission Team India, I just want to say it's great reading about all your experiences and I look forward to your return. Ben, Erika and Damon, I'm glad that you guys are doing great things for the Lord over there. Doureen, you are truly an inspiration for what you've been through and what you're doing. Have a good day... YBIC, Walter R.
30th June 2007

audy
I hope you got my last message entitled F.R.O.G. the computer was being weird. God is with you. He will give you the words to speak. The Holy spirit will guide you in a powerful way. Ask and you will receive his guidance. Remember, when we are grateful we are not complaining. I love you! You'll do great! Can't wait to hear more. Love, Mom
30th June 2007

Ericka
Hi Ericka, I will be your personal blogger, if you like! It sounds like you are being challenged and encouraged. Keep the faith and bring back lots of faith building stories for the rest of us! In my conversations with you in the past, I have seen incredible caring and compassion, and I know that the people you are serving are blessed to have you there! I'm so jealous that you got to ride an elephant! The most exciting thing I did here this week was plant some shrubs under my kitchen window--kinda boring, I have to admit! Maybe someday I'll get to go there too! Just think how this experience is changing you and will affect you the rest of your life--you will always see things through the eyes of someone who has seen the poverty, but also incredible joy of the disciples in a third world country! WOW! What an amazing privelege! WIth your background in social work, I know there must be many things running through your mind as you go from city to city and meet people with so many needs. I hope you're keeping a journal--I see a "book" in your future! (maybe?) :) I'm about to go to a young teen devo/barbecue that Chad has organized at the DAngelo's house. So I'd better run! Give a hug to everyone for us, and continue to persevere. I will try to email more consistently. Keep up the great work and God bless you and the rest of the team! Love YSIC, Luanne Berk
30th June 2007

Damon Banks
Damon, I am so glad that you have had the oppurtunity of a lifetime. This increases my faith and reminds me what being a missionary for Christ is all about. I had forgotten. Anyway try not to get to much of a sun tan, I want to be able to see you clearly when you come back to Michigan. By the way what are we suppose to do on the Fourth of July? Will Stephanie have BBQ and a movie on the garage. I am lost for ideas for this upcoming holiday. By the way when will you guys get back? Until me meet again continue to glorify God in all that you do whether it is in India or Michigan. Your mom would be so proud of you. Pearl
30th June 2007

Hey
Hey Damon. It's Al. I just wanted to see how you are doing. keep up the great job encouraging those in India. I'll be praying for you. Al
1st July 2007

Great to catch up with you guys
Well, you're in the home stretch. Starting to get anxious for home, yet not wanting to leave at the same time and maybe even thinking how can you possibly leave. I can just picture some of the events and conversations. Keep up the great work guys. Tell all our brothers and sisters hi from Tim and Wendy and we miss them all. We still think and talk of the regularly and pray for them as well. Not sure if you got my prior messages.... I don't see them. I think they went into some private portal and hyper space eh?

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb