Week 3- The Body Rebels and other highlights


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Mysore
March 27th 2006
Published: March 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I guess I had this coming, I do tend to be a gymp in most situations. I'm having some pretty bad pains in my neck and shoulder, actually i took friday and saturday off because I was having some serious trouble lifting my right arm.

Jayakumar seems a little confused about the whole thing, I told him last week that my shoulder was starting to hurt and he said, "wear a jacket in the winter season". Now first of all I do wear my fleece on my scoot to class in the morning, and secondly WINTER SEASON come on I'm Canadian for crying out loud. India in March is not exactly what I'd call winter, it's possibly warmer then most of our summer.

Never fear though, I'm being as resourceful as I can possibly be, Antonia, my flatmate, is a massage therapist. She gave me a massage last weekend, it help the symptoms for a couple days, but I soon realised that I'm going to have to do something to treat the problem. Just when I was really stumped as to who I should go see, I discovered that one of my friends here is a ciropractor, talk about lucky me! I had my consultation and first sesion yesterday, and well yes my shoulder is fubared, it's fixable. We're going to be doing some intense treatments and I've got a list of streches and strict instructions on asanas that I should avoid.

Lets see other highlights from the week...

Antonia got crazy food poisoning on monday, I came home from my 3 o'clock class to find her curled up on the ground crying. She had a fever of 40C or 104F and there was no possible way I could have taken her to the hospital because she couldn't even support the weight of her head. After trying a couple doctors, I didn't find on who could come see her that day, but I did find one who gave me a list of instructions on what i should do. Luckily at the pharmacy I saw Anna (the other roommate) coming back from class, so I had help looking after her. The poor girl was absolutely terrified and obviously in intense pain.
The fever finally broke at 10pm and then the next afternoon a doctor came to see her. She was in bed for 4 days but I'm happy to report that today she's gone to her first practice since last monday (a week ago today) and the last couple days she's been walking around and actually eating more then white rice and white bread. Scarey situations like that make me so thankful that I don't live alone, I couldn't imagine what she would have done.

Friday on my drive to my 3 o'clock theory class I had a bit of a nasty experience with an Indian man. I was just scooting alone, going fairly slowly up a hill (my scooter doesn't have that much power) and this Indian man (24ish) came right up beside me on his motorcycle and reached over and clenched onto my breast. This man must have some experience at this because it came out of nowhere. Now I say clenched because he then excelerated and nearly pulled me right over, I screamed and put my feet on the ground for balance but was completely in shock, and pain! I didn't even think to get his license plate number, all i could do was stare at him in utter disbelief as he drove away. Granted the whole time he was driving away from me, he was looking over his shoulder with a chilling grin/smirk on his face. I held it together pretty well until I got to class but as soon as I parked I started to flood. Poor Jayakumar had no idea what to do with me, we did some pranayama and meditation, then he told me to go home and talk to Antonia about it. We skipped theory all together based on the fact that it was taking all of my stength to not break out into hysterics.
I don't think it would have been so bad if it hadn't have hurt so much, it's now 3 days later and i still have bruises.

And now for some good news! Yes it may seem like it's all bad, but something good did come out of this week. Meir has decided that he didn't want to do the Apuna trek and is going to leave his friends and come here nearly a month early. It was originally going to take him 7 days to get here, but then he decided to fly from delhi so now he'll be here tomorrow! Right now he's about 20 hours into the 25 hour trip from where he was in nepal to delhi.

Yes I realise that my good news has nothing to do with yoga, jayakumar or india, but really it's the best i can do, and for me Meir coming is about the most exciting thing that could happen right now.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.27s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb