Hampi Day 1


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Hampi
May 29th 2009
Published: June 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I traveled by night train to Hospet and then took tuk-tuk/rickshaw to Hampi. I wasn't sick during the night as i hadn't eaten anything for the last two days which was good as the train loo's are really dirty.
When I got off the train I was asked/hassled by about 20 people for a rickshaw ride to Hampi but I wanted to take the bus as it was about 10Rs instead of 150Rs. I arrived at about 9am in Hampi so I wen to internet cafe before looking for a hotel to kill some time.

I checked into the Shanti Guest House which was about 20m from the main temple and only 150Rs (1.70pounds) per night, room was lovely with my own private bathroom - much needed. In the Shanti Guest house all rooms were centered around a little courtyard with lots of shade and seats and swings. The shade was much needed as it was about 37 degrees. Hampi also was the first place in India where I had no mobile reception at all on either Indian or Vodaphone sim.

After dumping my bag I went to the first larger temple called the Virupaksha Temple. It was really impressive. There was a large elephant inside which for 1RS would bless you on the head with its trunk. I gave this a miss and gave her a banana instead.

I then walked towards the river ( it was so hot it was difficult to walk anywhere, everything was done in slow motion). The river was very wide with lots of large boulders in it. I strolled slowly to the (LP recommended) Mango Tree restaurant where I had a much needed lemon soda. (the best thing in the heat I find....as alcohol is illegal in Hampi) I also had a really hot curry lunch.. I went from sweating in the heat from the sun to sweating from the curry. Only sat there for about 30mins as there were too many flies.

I walked back to the main road in Hampi and walked about 1.5km down the straight road to the other temples and get a good view of the main temple. (see picts)

In the evening I went out with about 10 people from the Shanti for dinner at the LP Gopi restaurant. I had noodles for the first time in weeks, they were great....but I regretted it later during the night when I was quite ill again. At least I can eat as much as possible and still lose weight :P



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Lemon SodaLemon Soda
Lemon Soda

Much needed in the heat


Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb