Still no volunteering


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Bangalore
May 26th 2009
Published: June 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Grandma Victor was instructed to walk me ( by Dr. Victor) into the slums and visit a slum school/creche. Once there she insisted on us taking pictures and we left after about 30mins! I didnt want to take photos but she hardly spoke any English and insisted. The slums were as bad as expected open sewers, children playing in them. There was every type of pooh on the ground it really stank, Again we waited all afternoon for Victor to come back, about 5hours..!! arg, when he turned up to take me to the evening center he said did i want a tea....i said no as i had been waiting all afternoon for him and he still brought me a tea, which made me even more angry as he totally unhonored the fact i had said no to the tea about 3 times.
Finally he took us to the evening center, which was a catholic center with jesus posters all over the place. Initially there were no children but Dr Victor disappeared and returned with about 20 children, some from the slum, most not. I did about an hour of teaching then me and Maheddine (May-deen) taught the kids the macarena which they loved. They then did some indian dancing. It was a really good evening. Photos of these attached , ...Although i had started to feel ill.

That night i had a really awful fever, i have never sweated and been so cold in one night, it was awful. Spent most of the time in pain, my whole body ached.

The next day i was too sick to move and just stayed in bed. The family tried to feed me, but i hated eating their food knowing its what made me ill in the first place. I hadnt eaten anything but their food

On the Thursday we were supposed to be going to a wedding but i was just too sick to be staying in a farm house with a loo in the garden. Tablets i was taking were having no effect at all, but at least the fever stopped.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0907s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb