Hampi Day 2/3


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Hampi
May 30th 2009
Published: June 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

TempleTempleTemple

Sightseeing morning
I managed to tag along with 3 German guys from my guest house on their sightseeing trip round the area. We all bundled into a small rickshaw and drove around most of Hampi's 26km2 of temples and ruins. We saw so many by lunch time we had had enough. The guys wanted to go to the Mango tree for lunch so I went along and had a delicious panneer massala curry. I came back to the guest house and literally collapsed and slept for hours, think it must have been my illness making me so weak.

When I woke some of the guys were in the courtyard and we planning to go to a temple on the other side of the river to watch the sunset so I tagged along again. We took a little boat across the river for 10 rs ( Indians only pay 5rs) . When the boat arrived the kind guy told us that it was the last boat back and that if we didn't go back now it would be 100 rs per person. There was no way I was paying that so I decided to watch the sunset from the main bank of the
Monkey godMonkey godMonkey god

with snake hat
river. But the guys decided that they would swim across the river back!! They gave me all their bags to carry back.

I sat a watched the lovely sunset, while continually getting pestered by lots of people. The temple elephant came down for a bath in the river.

When I returned back to the Shanti the guys turned up, they were soaked and some of them were in shock. The river was a lot deeper and stronger than they had imagined.

Was ill again during the night.

It might have been the extreme heat or the illness but I spent the last day in Hampi watching dvd's and doing nothing in a restaurant with 2 friendly English gap year girls, eating chocolate pancakes. In the evening I took the night train back to Bangalore.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Sunset Sunset
Sunset

At an odd angle
Elephant Elephant
Elephant

No the man has not got his head up the elephants bum.
ManjuManju
Manju

Yet another brilliant name on a water bottle


15th September 2009

Picture titled monkey god
I suppose that wouldnt be the Monkey god (Lord Hanuman) but it would the Idol of Lord Narasimha (Part Lion and Part human)

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb