Namma Bengaluru - and weekend getaways


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Bangalore
June 15th 2010
Published: June 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Bangalore being my hometown is hence not a place that I have visited.. but I thought I should start with writing about this wonderful city before talking about the other lovely places we have visited.

Let me start with the weather.. which is in my view the BEST in the world! The weather makes even other hiccups like traffic, bad roads and pollutions (temporary problems till our metro comes up) tolerable..

Some things I really love about Bangalore is the abundance of good resturants, the cosmopolitan people, and shopping streets and malls.. In other words there is nothing that is not available here which is available elsewhere 😊
For spots to visit in Bangalore, have a look at the photos posted ..

I am not a party animal, so the (so-called) poor night life does not spoil my image of Bangalore 😉

My husband and I work in the software industry and hence weekends are something we long for. We spent the first 3 years of our married life just driving around places around Bangalore. We would love to do it now as well, but travel is very different with my 2 year old cutie brat Vedh. Anyhow life is beautiful in its own way as a mother!

Coming back to the travel part.. Bangalore is an ideal place for people who like to take short trips, as there are quite a few lovely weekend getaways..
The ones we loved (in the order of distance from Bangalore) are-
1. Nithyagram Dance Village and Taj Kuteeram (Culture, Tradition and luxury in one place)
2. Oasis Angsana Spa and Resort
3. Golden Palms Spa and Resort
4. Eagleton Gold Resort
5. Banergatta National Park (I went there with Vedh and "loved" the Tigers! )
6. Nandi Hills
7. Bheemeshwari
8. Sangam/ Mekadatu
9. Mysore
10. Bandipur
11. Georgia Sunshine Village - Shivanasamudram (a cosy resort close to the falls)
12. Zeenath Taj Garden, Yellagiri Hills (Awesome food. We went there thrice just for the food 😊 )

A few other nice getaways for a 3-4 day trip (200-350km)
13. Yercaud (Recommended resort: Grange Resorts)
14. Chikmagalur (Recommended resort: Eagle Eye Resorts)/ Kemmanagundi
15. Ooty/Coonoor
16. Coorg
17. Wayanad
18. Mahabalipuram
19. Pondicherry

Each name above brings me beautiful memories.. I will write about each of them in my future blogs..
This is my first blog ever.. and I hope to continue this 😊

Happy Traveling!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



16th June 2010

Happy Memories!!!
Nish, Iam in agreement with your thoughts on bangalore. It's a wonderful city. The city has major "converting capability" what I mean is....the visitors who come here become permananent citizens. How can we forget the great shopping places like Commercial street, chickpet, MG Road.... I too have visited couple of placed that you have mentioned ...love Pondicherry .... Iam so looking forward to your other detailed blogs.... way to girl!!
16th June 2010

Bangalore looks like a cool places :)
Nice writeup !!!!
16th June 2010

thanks chandan! I wish you start writing as well... make a combined one at least for alll your bike trips and himalayan expeditions!!
25th June 2010

nice read.....B'lore has a special charm to woe pple's heart. Lovely city with lovely pple like u. knowing u and jag has been wonderful and we r looking forward to many more memorable moments with u both as we continue our journey in the beautiful city. For me Places or spots or destinations don't make it special by themselves....Its frds like u who make it extra special.....Way to go Nish and Jag. waiting for the day to do Cheers again.....!!!
30th October 2010

Ooty Resorts, Ooty home stay, Ooty hotel, Ooty holiday, Ooty guest house
charan writes articles about coonoor trip, I have a unforgettable events in my trip to coonoor near to ooty, already well known as one of the best holiday trip in India . The author invites you to visit : coonoor www.ootyresort.com
24th December 2013

It's a wonderful city,Lovely city with lovely people good to see Tamilnadu Tourism Packages http://parveenholidays.com/static.action?page=holiday/dest-tamilnadu

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb