Dharamsala & McLeod Ganj - random pics


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Mcleod Ganj
October 21st 2007
Published: October 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Just finished breakfast at Nick's and we're going to hit the Tibetan Museum today...do some shopping....sip tea and look at the view, etc. Rough life, huh? 😉

Anyway, here are some pics of our time up in the Himalayas.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

View from bus to DharamsalaView from bus to Dharamsala
View from bus to Dharamsala

The photo is really dark, but this is what it really looks like! This is a view of a "rest stop" about 6 hrs out of Delhi, heading West.
Twisting roads up to DharamsalaTwisting roads up to Dharamsala
Twisting roads up to Dharamsala

This is why it takes 12 hrs to get here!
Scenes from the bus windowScenes from the bus window
Scenes from the bus window

Driving through Shimla, getting closer to Dharamsala.
Billboard from the bus window.Billboard from the bus window.
Billboard from the bus window.

I'm sure it's quite informative!
We're here!We're here!
We're here!

View of our room at Hotel Tibet - not bad for $11 or so!
Who needs a lawn-mower?Who needs a lawn-mower?
Who needs a lawn-mower?

A typical scene up in McLeod Ganj. Cows and dogs roam the streets and yards all over.
One of the many dogs in McLeod GanjOne of the many dogs in McLeod Ganj
One of the many dogs in McLeod Ganj

I have enjoyed spending time with many of the dogs. Some of them are quite picky, though, preferring croissants to crackers. hehe.
Another sweet dogAnother sweet dog
Another sweet dog

This poor little fellow was limping, possibly hit by a car. He did enjoy some pastry and a pat on the head, though. :)
Bhagsu RoadBhagsu Road
Bhagsu Road

Bhagsu Road, on the way to Bhagsu Falls, has some of the best views in the area!


22nd October 2007

Cool for you!
I'm glad your Delhi Belly episodes are few and far between. Monkey on the roof? That's crazy! I'm glad you're having a great time. Thanks for the pics!
27th October 2007

dog that is limping
I WILL TAKE THAT DOG...what does it take to save an pup over there....I realize I am barking at the moon but jules...if you bump into him again...I want to make it work...of course I am sounding neurotic (been some time since I have seen you!!! too f'n long) but I have a female that looks just like him and she could learn she aint the only pup in town...plus he just looks/feels right....again...I am barking at the moon but I have already named him billybob...love to you and you adventure....you have always amazed me with your spirit and now you amaze me with your travels....love you jules!!! kath
30th October 2007

Pupster
isn't he the sweetest?? I went back and saw him a couple more times before leaving....I wish I could take them all home! What I really would like to do is figure a way to go up there (or around India) and neuter the dogs so the stray population will go down!! At least up in D'sala they take decent care of them, some of the store owners sort of "adopt" them and some have collars.... Hope to see you soon! xoxo, jules

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb