"My sound is finish!"


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Dharamsala
May 10th 2008
Published: May 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I love my nuns. :D

Yesterday teaching was off, because it's the Dalai Lama's teachings, but most of my 3:30s were staying at the nunnery and they asked for class, so I obliged. We had a big discussion about what you'd take with you (out of a list of things) if you crash-landed in Antarctica. And I discovered that they really liked the idea of carrying around a bottle of whisky.

I've been spending some time in the nuns' rooms. I got a Tibetan lesson from Pema (though I've forgotten most of it. All of it. Whoops.)
They show me photos of their family, all in traditional dress, and they look like postcards.
Pema walked into the room and declared "my sound is finished!" She'd lost her voice.

I went with Pema, Chime and a nun whose name I don't know but reallyreally should to Gyuto monastery this morning. Pema and unknown name's brothers are monks there, so I got to see the monks rooms. Fancy. They have a fridge and a stove top and proper cupboards and fake wood floors and a little shrine.
Chime and I did koras around the temple (her teaching me the Tibetan words for the pictures on the ground) while waiting for the other two to visit their other brother -- Chime is very very shy of the monks, and doesn't think it's right to go to their rooms, but it afraid of being without the others while among all the monks.
We stopped for a rest on a bench, and a random woman came up and gave us each a biscuit, then walked off. o_O

Pema declared on the way here that she is a 'rich man', and 'half-boy, half-girl' and chased Chime with a long piece of palm.

:D

Advertisement



10th May 2008

Stephanephanie
Naww the nuns sound so cute! ^_^ You still sound like you're having a lot of fun- really beats essays and constant assignments amongst other things I'm supposed to be doing...and oh yeah...work >> <> :D LOVE LOVE LOVE <3333333333333333333333333333
13th June 2008

Its been a while!
Since your last post. Are you planning to write or are you such a remote part of India that there's no internet?

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb