Gujarat Road Trip part 3: Empty tank; through hell; emerging to blissful beach and sun - Mandvi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Gujarat » Mandvi
February 3rd 2014
Published: February 3rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Sikh ascetic appearing from nowhereSikh ascetic appearing from nowhereSikh ascetic appearing from nowhere

Note to self - must get the sign translated. Maybe he is just an Amway seller?
December 27th2013



Been walking my mind to an easy time, my back turned towards the sun

Lord knows when the cold wind blows it will turn your head around

Fire and Rain, James Taylor



We are well into Gujarat now, and the roads are good and uncluttered. I change to reserve tank and figure (as usual) that I will have no trouble filling at the next pump. Ha! I come up short by about 5 kms. This is where riding with someone is great. David agrees to go ahead and get me a bottle of petrol. While waiting for him I experience a peaceful emptiness gazing across the flat landscape. My phone connection kicks in after being out for 2 days and I receive a very nice awaited mail from a friend in Pushkar, and we begin to 'play' with possibilities of her meeting me somewhere in Gujarat. An unexpected arrival passes by in the form of an itinerant Sikh ascetic on a bicycle. I have no idea what he is doing out here. Hota hei!

The next hour takes us through an extremely ugly industrial wasteland belonging in some sci-fi movie
Noah rides again in MandviNoah rides again in MandviNoah rides again in Mandvi

Cheap labour means these ships are still the way to go for trade to the Gulf.
and I am reminded of the dark side to everything. We push through and eventually reach Mandvi on the western Gujarati coast of the Arabian Sea. It is exhilarating to see the ocean again. It's also warm and the lure of a sea swim fills our minds. But first we ride through the town and witness the very wonder of Gujarati ship building – an age old tradition that makes me think of Noah and his ark.

The beach is peaceful and the water is great. I can still swim after 6 months of no practice! So too is dozing in the afternoon sunshine before witnessing a magnificent sunset over the sea. All is well with the world – in this part of it anyway.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



3rd February 2014

I was wondering :)
When 'playing' would get a mention!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Glorious sunset.......... Best hugs Marguerite
4th February 2014

Short but sweet!
Love you Paul.
5th February 2014

Beautiful photos !
HI The sikh man is on some sort of pilgrimage. The first line is in hindi which translates as "from Amritsar to Sachkhand (which means near god). http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sach_Khand The next few lines are in Punjabi which I dont understand but I think the sikh is on a pilgrimage from Jammu to Kanya kumari on his bicycle covering all the sikh religous places (gurudwara). regards and enjoy gujrat,

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb