day 20


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Panaji
December 27th 2007
Published: July 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Check out of the AFONSO today.

We were paying the bill and part of it was for laundry - we had to pay 485rps for the laundry, I gave 500rps and started to walk off.

The landlady stopped me and quite rudely said - you owe me the commission from the bank.

Oh, ok - erm how much is it?

34Rps! 34 BLEEDIN Rupees.

I gave her 20rps and again started to walk off - she looked and said you still owe me 14 I said No knock it off the money I gave you for the laundry and then you actually owe me 1...

I couldn't believe it I thought it was really petty - 34rps isn't a lot is it? Anyway it made me laugh.

We have just been the bank, had a walk round the town - sat by the lake for a bit and now come back to the PANJIM INN for coffee before our trip to the airport.

We finally got to the airport - don't ask me how the rickshaw was the slowest one in India - even DK who like to arrive at the airport at the death thought we wouldn't make it... See there is a lesson here isn't there Mr.DK.

The flight was pretty uneventful - only an hour

And here we are in MUMBAI!!! Yey! I love it here.

The drive to the hotel was about an hour & half - not too bad, as we were driving through I remembered some of the buildings and areas and in doing so realised how much things have changed since we were last here a year ago.

This time we have decided not to stay in Coloba, we are staying on Marine Drive.

***THE SEA GREEN SOUTH HOTEL***

After registration we get to the room - god its massive, but sparse. The view on the balcony is ok though it looks to the right over the ocean, to the left the cricket ground.

DK is made up because we have a tv, I bet it's all rubbish channels though.

The staff are really friendly, one of them is already waiting to take out laundry and we've only just started to unpack... 😊
Laundry gone we decide to go to the Causeway, It doesn't look that far on the map from where we are now so head out LP in hand.

It's about a 10 minute walk quite nice to be able to stretch legs after being in rickshaws, planes and taxis all day. On the way we decide to go to Leopold's to eat - SOLD OUT!!! It seemed so expensive this time, I know, I know we are in Mumbai what should I expect but compared to last year... Last time we were here the bar was mainly full of fruit for juicing now its full of beer and copies of SHANTARAM, I know it's been out for a while this book but this year it seems to be everywhere. (yes I read it - at the beginning of the trip and yes i loved it BUT...) It's still full of foreign visitors but now added to that are young Indian boys attempting to get drunk. Really disappointed as we had enjoyed it so much last year.

Ah well...

On the way home we got lost, in the end got a taxi back to the hotel - was literally down the road but hey we didn't know. DK had a gob on cos I shouted at him... Maaaan

We are so happy to be here - WE LOVE MUMBAI

Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb