Finally the beach!!!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Palolem
April 3rd 2006
Published: April 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

More PlaytimeMore PlaytimeMore Playtime

Kids playing on the beach
Finally left Mumbai maybe 3-4 days ago (remember? I have no concept of time..). Took another overnight bus.. which I still have one more to take to get back to Mumbai... Argh! Anyway, this one was just nasty. My bed smelled of urine, someone had previously had a little accident on it before I guess. It was so strong that I just couldn't handle it anymore and found another empty bunk below us, so I slept there... with the cockroaches crawling over me all night... I can deal with that, but not the smell and the fact of lying in it.. no way~! Anywa it only took 14hrs not the 16 they had told us.. WOW! What a surprise! Anyway we head to Baga beach first which to tell you the truth it's just insanity! It's a resort area just PACKED with tourists. I mean I've NEVER seen a beach with so many beach chairs. So we're walkign along the beach trying to find a spot to lay down and take in the rays, but as we walked along you just get hassled by people trying to rent you a char. No thanks! 50 Rupees for the day! Whatever! Anyway we finally found a spot, but of course we were the laughing stock of the beach 'cause here are the poor backpackers not able to afford a chair, everyone just stared at us as they walkd by. Well that was enough fo rus, we were determined to leave this beach, but we wanted to check out the Saturday nightmarket, so we opted to stay another night. It was great 'cause there was some amazing shopping and bargaining there... Unfortunately I only have one backpack that's practically full and another 3-4 months to go, so I didn't get all I wanted, just a few little things, but it was great... I just love night markets!!! So we left the next morning to catch our "buses" to Palolem beach.. riding with the locals, but it was ok, just a little loud and hot. As soon as we got here we were soooo happy to be on a nice beach which is somewhat quiet and in a bungalow again. I can't explain to you how the need for peace and quiet, oh and finally beer, after only a few weeks in the cities. I love it. And I can't believe I'm gonn abe here for almost 2 weeks and not having to move anywhere or even pack my bag, it's great. I'm so happy doing nothing, you dont' understand. We found ourselves a nice little hut high up and stilts with a view of the ocean and with toilet and shower in the room. Only complaint is that the bed is just way too hard. I mean I'm used to sleeping on hard beds and actually enjoy it because of Taiwan, but this is just too much. I have bruises on my hips! Anyway, I'll get used to it in a few days.
Today we woke up, went to our Cuba Cafe for breaky then sunbathed 'til 2, had lunch, sunbathed, back to Cafe, read book, went to hut, showered, now at net cafe, then dinner, then a few beers, then bed. Now THIS is life at it's best.. LOL
Well that's pretty much it really. There won't be much for me to say for the next few weeks, but if anything interesting happens I'll keep you updated.

Later!
Going for dinner on the beach !!! Woohoo!

Advertisement



26th May 2007

talk
we humans are so desperste to talk and everybody's experience is so so important it all amounts to tiny grains of sand on a very big beach saying "I'm important I do matter"

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb