Arambol - Goa


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Arambol
October 28th 2009
Published: October 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Monday, Oct 26th - Arambol, Goa

So, today we left Anjuna to go to Arambol. The weekend was fine. We didn’t end up partying at all, but we met really nice people and hung out at the Shore Bar a lot. I finished ‘eat, pray, love’ yesterday and actually got a parcel send out today to hopefully be in Melbourne before I am. Sending a parcel in India usually includes spending 2-3 hours at the post office (not exaggerating here!). But siunce the post office in Anjuna is tiny, it only took me 20 minutes. Like everything in India, sending a parcel is quite complicated and includes various forms, copies of your passport and getting the packet stitched up in cotton sheet. I hope it’ll actually get there. Oh, and I rebooked my flights to Australia. So now, I can actually stay here until Dec 3rd. Then I’m going to Kuala Lumpur for two nights, so I’m actually arriving in Melbourne on Dec 6th. This is very exciting, because I just recently decided I really wanna do the Vipassana Meditation for 10 days. And there happens to be a centre close to Trivandrum, where I’m flying out of. I already sent them an application and right now I can’t really think of any reason why they shouldn’t accept me as a student. So, now you’ll probably think I’ve gone completely mad: Vipassana Meditation is a pretty strict Buddhist form of silent mediation. This includes no form of communication for 10 days and 10 hours of mediation each day. I don’t wanna go too far into detail, just google it, if you wanna read more. I met so many people so far and everyone said it was the experience of their life. I can’t really decide right now whether I’m scared or excited, maybe both…

We spent the afternoon at the beach in Arambol, which I find a lot nicer than Anjuna. We rented a little hut very close to the beach for 200 INR a night. We even have our own bathroom, which is a complete luxury to us. The ocean is very nice and warm and it is just awesome to go swimming while during the sunset, watching the sun being swallowed by the sea. Amy’s out partying, I didn’t feel like it. I don’t know… Lots of people I met so far seem to have come here merely to party, get wasted and do drugs and everyone’s really excited about the cheap alcohol/dope prices. And that’s fine, it just doesn’t feel right for me. Can’t even say why, it just doesn’t. I just wanna spend a day at the beach tomorrow and I’m quite honestly not too sad, that we’re leaving for Hampi Wednesday night. We’re going with Darius and Ellie from Canada, who we met in Anjuna. We’ll take an overnight bus.

Ok, guys I’m tired and I wanna get on with Shantaram  Oh Kristina, I’m listening to the Into the Wild soundtrack right now, and I still totally love it!!!

Hari Om


Wednesday, the 28th Oct

We left Arambol yesterday morning. I hardly slept the night before. When moving into a cute, little cocoa hut, alway remember! I practically doesn't have walls, so you hear EVERYTHING outside. I just wanted some quiet place to stay with a quiet beach. So we took off to Mandrem yesterday! I really love it here. It's still quite outta season, so not too many places are open and it"s very quiet and very pretty. So we pretty much did nothing but chillin at the beach. Got tanned :-)
Oh, so here's a tip for all you travelers: Always pack a plug for the sink/bathtub or whatever! Learned that yesterday when I wanted to do laundry! Fortunately, Amy had one! Tody, we're gonna take the night bus to Hampi. I don't really know, how long the ride's gonna be, maybe like 12 or 14 hours??? But since it's not gonna be on ti,e anyways, it doesn't really matter. You get there, when you get there...

This much for today!
xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb