Day 7 - Hong Kong - Mega McPepper, A Cable Car full of loonies, Buddha and the Wisdom Path that turned into a mountain!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Lantau Island
November 8th 2009
Published: November 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, first of all a quick recap, I spent the weekend pretty much sleeping, eating and drinking with not much inbetween, so began to feel like a sloth. Friday was a bit of a struggle as I only had 3 hours sleep in the morning, spent the day with my dad which was nice, although we went to a pub for lunch - The Aviator, Tung Chung - it was terrible. We were in the place for about an hour before they came to give us a menu and even thenwe had to ask for it despite sitting down at a table! We managed to spend about 2 n a half hours there. Then went on to Sham Shui Po cause dad needs some bits of electronic equiptment for what ever he is building... I think its either a robot, or a time machine. We went out for dinner friday night at a Indian restaurant around the corner - Very nice food!! Although, we all filled up on starters! Idiots! I then fell asleep on the couch as we watched Law and Order, and Dad sent me to bed about 20:30. Saturday I woke up at 12:30 and didn't do a great deal, but headed into Lang Kwai Fong in the evening and had a seriously night out and met a big bunch of Australians and had a wicked time, and arrived home at 08:30 in the morning, went to bed, and woke up at 12:30 again. Sunday was a wash out, slept ate, and headed out as it was the ozzys last night in HK, so went to meet them, we said 22:00, but they didn't get their till 23:30 and I'd already left cause I thought they weren't coming, and I wnted to watch Chelsea v Man Utd, which started at 00:00 and I could watch it at home, and I could get the MTR back which closes at 00:58. Chelsea won 1-0, I went to bed.

So, Monday rolls around an I wake up at 07:00. Due to my lack of movement over the weekend, I decided to plonk myself in front of a computer and get my travel plans sorted, and itinery set. So after three cups of coffee, numerous pieces of scrap paper and scribbling, drawing and working out dates, at roughly 11:00 I had set my route, an found the four flights I need, included to and from Australia at a cost of 610pounds. Not bad me thinks! With that sorted, I felt full of energy and decided I need to do something, and something I did. I got in the shower, pulled on some semi touristy clothes, flip flops, shorts, shirt with the sleves rolled up and headed off to see Buddha! I thought, as a walked down to the 'Ngong Ping 360' cable car station that I should eat and drink before I get up there, not least of all because my dad said; "its a religous place, I don't know what food they will have" - lets remember that... so, I started getting a real urge for a McDonalds, a real urge for a Big Mac... then in the queue advertising hit me... the McPepper... then more advertising, the MEGA McPepper... four slabs of juicy meat with chopped onions and a pepper sauce... it looks about 4 feet tall, and ready to disintergreat in your mouth due to its perfect cooking. Of course I knew this would not be the case, and ordered it anyway, and was not supprised to see a sad little burger sqaushed into a carboard box and coated in a sticky strong pepper sauce. However, I gobbled it up and headed on my way to spiritual enlightement with Buddha.

I short walk from Tung Chung MTR station takes you to the Ngong Ping 360 cable car station what till deliver you into the mountains so you may see a large statue of Buddha and begin your own personal elightenment. At the station your tickets come in an array of choices, single trips, round trips and Enlightment package trips, then factor those by standard, crystal cabin and 'ive got more money then sense queue jumps' at $3000ish. However, I didn't fancy queueing for 1hr, so bought the Crystal Cabin Enlightenment round trip ticket; weighing in at $219 - as opposed to the standard which is $169, so buying an hour of time at $50 doesn't bother me. I preceeded to the much smaller queue, and in no time I was onboard my cable car heading to the mountains. it was probably at this point that I remembered I'm a bit of a pussy, and scared of heights, my girlfriend; Kiran, would love to tell everyone and anyone of the fun she had laughing at me at Thorpe Park. As the C.C. departs, we all notice the floor is transparent, which is a nice and clever touch but when you can see the sea below your feet it doesnt do much to stop the terror. The ride, in retrospect, was not too bad, I felt scared in my belly, and was uncomfortable throughout, but the scenery and views visable from a suspended box over water and mountain/hills sides is spectacular. However, whilst our car was making its steapest ascent, it stopped - as did all the others - after what seemed a very long time swinging slightly in the wind an annoucement told us it was time to regulate the cable, so we would be moving backwards, and forwards. You can imangine my delight at such a situation. Moving with terror is one thing, your getting closer all the time, but hanging, still, then moving backwards, and stopping, and waiting, and moving forwards, and stopping and waiting and then finally getting moving is a different situation altogether! Eventually we began moving again, ah movement - delightful, but we stopped again, and started 'falling' back down the cable!! luckily this was only for a few moments, but it just seemed pretty scarey at the time, oh plus my dad is very helpful and told me that only one of the cars has fallen off.

The journey probably take about 15 minutes normally, ours must have been 25 - 30. But we arrived safetly at Tourist sucker village before the buddha statue. A series of small buildings attempting to look like old chinese/indian huts are set up, each containing ways to strip you of your money, cafes, bars, resturants and even a 7Eleven and a Starbucks reside here. The stark reality of religion today? I did have to buy a bottle of water as it was a beautiful day, very hot and sunny. I then proceeded into one of the two shows I had bought entrance for with my C.C. ticket; "Walking with Buddha". The walking part is that you walk through 4 rooms, two with movie screens and two with his religious teachings. The story is that Buddha was a prince, but very unhappy, saw he'd die unhappy, and decided to not be a prince, cut his hair and sit under the Bhodi tree thinking. He then became enlightened; thus being Buddha - meaning, enlightened one. The majority of his teachings are about removing perishables from life, which makes me laugh as this whole place is littered with gift shops and souvenirs! Rediculous. From here I proceeded through the rest if the tourist trap to the sit where Buddha sits, it is quiet a sight, a huge statute with steps leading up to it, as Buddha sits on the peak of one of the smaller mountains in the area. It'd be easier for you to look at the photos then me try and explain too much. The area around Buddha is awash with tourists and cameras and everyone taking hundreds of pictures, I took about 250 yesterday.

After walking upto, and around Buddha and seeing the surrounding hills, and jagged countryside, I continued on to the 'Wisdom Path', which at first seems to be a concrete path between trees on one side and building works on the other. Then it turns down between just trees, with a couple of very old and probably very out financed cafes. Eventually, after 5 or 10 minutes, the Wisdom Path shows its meaning. A small gazebow houses a placard which explains it purpose. An anciet sutra was written and had been translated and its translation was placed in Cantonese symbols upon 30 something massive logs and placed in a figure of eight to symbolise infinity, and placed upon a small section of the hills to show the landscape of Hong Kong. After touring around these logs, I headed further along what I thought was the wisdom path.

I as continued to walk, I found the view was getting better and better as I was getting a little higher and higher. But the path soon turned from beaten track to stone steps and occasionally steap like a stone ladder! It was at this point I realised I was no longer on the Wisdom Path but instead on the Painful Climb up to Lantau Peak. Of course I was fully prepared for this inventuallity, flip flops, iPhone, camera, no water or food and a cotton shirt capable of soaking up all my sweat and holding it till its hung up to dry! I'm not sure how long it took, but I managed to get to the top of the mountain, all 934 meters, and in doing so caught up with a couple of German lads, Mathias and Thomas. The asked if I had planned to climb this peak, and I said no, and they were supprised given my atire. They were wearing socks, shoes, appropreiate climbing gear with large bags and water, oh, and a can of beer for later on. I joined them in heading down, but not the way we came, further inland to the road that joins Lantau north, with south; another 3km to the road then maybe 3km more to home. I arrived home around 18:00ish, very tired, very stiff in the legs, and with very sore feet. It is hard to explain the expirence upon the mountain, and getting there and back. The views were spectacular - well except for the peak which was covered in clouds! But all the same, it was a great experience, and I'm glad I took the wrong path and more importantly didn't stop and turn back. Bed at 21:00 and awake at 07:00.




Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



13th November 2009

flipperty floppers
you trekked up a mountain in flip flops and you laughed at me for trekking through the jungle.....i think you´ll find your idea was definately the more stupid one honey!!! xxxxx

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb