Mind Your Head


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Lamma Island
August 30th 2008
Published: August 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hong KongHong KongHong Kong

Nothing too much here, really.
Well. It's a whole different world on this side of the world. Can you believe they drive on the wrong side of the road? 😉

Just Kidding

But seriously.

So, despite the fact that I am, in fact, a college graduate, I was unable to successfully add hours and time changes and such and so my layover was twice as long as I thought it would be. 12 hours instead of 6. Which I thought was going to be just horrible. And yet, it turned into a whole nother trip. Hong Kong is just an absolute MEGA city. It is huge. I thought Philadelphia was big, New York City was big. Nope.

I took a shuttle from the airport and ended up in this huge mall. Prada, Coach, Dolce and Gabana (sp?); the whole nine. Not a normal priced store in sight. And here I am, filthy, smelly, exhausted walking around looking for some Pier to head off to Lamma Island. I didn't exactly fit in. But I guess that's cause I'm just a dirty hippie at heart.

Lamma Island was an interesting endeavor. Being in the shadow of such a metropolis I expected it to
Hong KongHong KongHong Kong

The more things change, the more they stay the same
be nice and clean. With beautiful beaches. Al fresco dining. Bikinis sans speedoes.

It turned out to be a very poor island. A couple of villages and the definite "don't make a wrong turn vibe" immediately struck me as so different from the city I had just left. Within a 30 minute ferry ride, I ended up on an island with no streets, not a single car, a ton of rusted-up huffy bicycles and a ton of locals. When I found the first beach it looked amazingly refreshing. And then I got closer and it was, well, dirty than anything I've ever seen on the jersey coast. And there were more than a handful of speedoes.
I took a dip because I thought, shit, when will I REALLY swim in the South China Sea again? (probably never...I hope I don't get sick) 😊

Anyhow, it was a wonderful introduction to Asia all in all. Poverty meets metropolis meets village meets locals meets tourists. This place is quite intense this far. I only arrived in Kathmandu last night and spent the majority of the evening intoxicated so I don't want to talk too much about Nepal just yet. These
Lamma IslandLamma IslandLamma Island

Hung Shing Se Beach
pictures from Hong Kong are all I have to offer so far. And this little tidbit...

Mind your head.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Lamma IslandLamma Island
Lamma Island

No problem they can't fix
Lamma IslandLamma Island
Lamma Island

da beach. south china sea
Lamma IslandLamma Island
Lamma Island

Bird's eye. It was an extremely steep hike in very humid weather but the view was worth it.
Lamma IslandLamma Island
Lamma Island

There were two villages on either side of the Island. I took the ferry from Hong Kong to Yuk Wuen and then left from here, Suk Whan. The fishing docks were very interesting.
Lamma IslandLamma Island
Lamma Island

Tin Hau Temple
Lamma IslandLamma Island
Lamma Island

Back to Hong Kong
Hong KongHong Kong
Hong Kong

This isn't even an 1/8th of the city. It was a monstro-city. get it?


31st August 2008

I love this blog already, Meg! I feel like I can live vicariously thru you : ) Stay safe! Don't take too many herbal remedies.
21st September 2008

I LOVE HONG KONG
Didn't you just love Honk Kong. It was a favorite of Erika and I when we were there.

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0883s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb