For you? 350 ruppee


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
August 31st 2008
Published: August 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

RooftopRooftopRooftop

View from the Kathmandu Guest House. I stayed here my first night. It was so closed off from the city that I had to find a less, well, westernized hotel.
I'm not exactly sure where to start this blog. Kathmandu is amazing. It has caused the most intense emotions I've ever felt in my life. It is an emotional rollercoaster. From the simple and westernized life in Thamel to the homeless families of the actual city and the roaming dogs and dedicated worshippers, there is a lot to keep your mind busy. I can't even find words to describe what it is that makes this place the beautiful and yet terribly depressing place that it is. In one instant I feel that I am so happy to be here and then I turn a corner and there is dog that I'm not sure is breathing lying on the ground, a toddler begging me for food on the encouragement of his parents, and ricksaw drivers yelling at me from 6 directions all amidst the incessant honking of taxis and buses and scooters and motorcycles. Amputees scoot by on pieces of wood mounted on wheels, women lie on the ground asleep with their 4 children circling, and yet someone is still trying to sell me something, anything. It has proven to be very difficult.

And yet, in only two days I've learned
Could you say no?Could you say no?Could you say no?

The first woman and child I bought milk for. He was too beautiful...I've learned since it only leads to more. A difficult image for me to digest.
to walk by and ignore. As cold as that sounds it is the way it must be because once I've helped one person I only want to help them all. I bought one woman milk for her baby and fifteen minutes later I saw her again and she asked for milk again, and followed me for ten minutes before I told her I just bought her milk and she actually recognized me. It was then that I knew I had to live and well, let live? Everytime a beautiful child walks up to me and smiles and I smile back, they follow me for twenty minutes, pulling on my arm for food, for money, to pick them up, to carry them, to get them medicine. It's heartbreaking, the poverty. And yet it has to be the best learning experience I've ever had.

The architecture is beautiful. The religious culture is beautiful. The city life is unlike anything you can experience in the US. The fun of bargaining with shop owners and street vendors, the walking away from shop owners and street vendors, the adapting to life outside of the US. The temples are absolutely amazing. The things you see
KathmanduKathmanduKathmandu

A temple on the walk to Swayambhunath Temple (Monkey Temple)..good display of architecture
on the walks to the temples. We walked with a Tibetan Monk for two hours yesterday and it was the first time we'd walked with a local who never asked, applied or wanted our money. It was beautiful.

I have no more words so I'll let the pictures say what I can't. Tomorrow I leave for 12 days for a Vipassana study. Think of me when you talk as I won't be able to speak again til the 12th.

As cliche as it feels for me to leave on this note, I must...

Namaste




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

ThamelThamel
Thamel

No traffic jam...a rare sight
ShamanShaman
Shaman

This photo cost me 5 rupee...They expect it.
KathmanduKathmandu
Kathmandu

I guess they don't have littering fines...
SwayambhunathSwayambhunath
Swayambhunath

AKA The Monkey Temple
Buddhist WorshipBuddhist Worship
Buddhist Worship

The Monkey Temple
A Mental StruggleA Mental Struggle
A Mental Struggle

The one in the pink is in charge of two little ones.
Stairway to HeavenStairway to Heaven
Stairway to Heaven

Almost to the top of the Swayambhunath Stupa
Buddhist WorshipBuddhist Worship
Buddhist Worship

Within Swayambhunath grounds
See how Westernized...See how Westernized...
See how Westernized...

and he wanted me to give him money!
The WalkThe Walk
The Walk

Stairs to Stupa


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb