October 15th-22nd: Guelph/Kettleby/Toronto


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Lamma Island
October 15th 2005
Published: October 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

October Friday 14th-22nd : Guelph/Kettleby/T.O.

Guelph: Lovely to spend some time with Yessie, whom I haven’t spent much time with over the past few years, and was so happy to hang with. We ate pad thai ‘til I nearly keeled over, had some good cawfey tawlks and watched ‘batteries not included’ -what pattootters those little ‘bots were. Never met the elusive roommate Dan, who hibernated…what’s the status on that one girl? //Apres Jess, I visited Gemma, who had cute roommate Matt deux.( hehhy-ey!...paige’s gay horse joke has become the, well my house joke. Hehehe) Went out when I shouldn’t have and bronchitis. Shyiht. (poo-ya) So, yeah, I had a sore throaght, and thought I’d abstain from substances when I went to trivia night at Jimi Jazz. Owed Gemma a drink, so I ‘had’ to toast her with my own double g & t, then Carey didn’t like his vodka/tonic, so I had to help, then Big E shows up and buys me a ‘black monkey’ and a keiths and then next thing you know it’s 9am and I’ve been partying with simon, Jordan and the boys at Big E’s new duo-bachelor-pad (sad. Miss the house and trampoline!) all night. That was actually the worst attempt at abstaining I’ve ever displayed! ( I think…) Needless to say, the next day was ROUGHBOYAH! Gem let me try and reoup in her beautiful mansion-like house for the next 24 hours. Sorry Gem.

Kettleby: On two occasions did I visit Luke and his fam in the historic Vill of Kettleby. I love it there! From the wood-burning stove, to the farm fields around to my favourite buddy, Obie the dawg (who I might actually kidnap). While Luke and Silas went to work landscaping all day, I spent some time trying to re-coup and figure out Mamma Patty’s natural medicine cabinet, to see what I could do for me bronchitis. Going on the internet, though, I couldn’t get beyond what the difference between ‘homeopathic’ and ‘naturopathic’, and hell even ‘anthroposophical medicines’ were. Oi! Time to go to Steiner College!//Patty came home and we had a grand convo about relationships, and how she found Waldorf Education over ginger tea….Weird twist of fate because not only was my last night in town Korrin’s (who I haven’t seen in like a year) last night in town, but his flight to Austria to live with his woman (yes the girlfriend he ‘didn’t have’ that night almost a year ago…) was basically at the same time as my flight, so Luke and Silas (who drove me to the airport) had a beer with Korrin in the airport. On the morning of the flight I was close to shitting my pants, well pyjamas, which I wore on le plane. I woke up that morning with a racing heart, so nervous to see my Dad. Luke hugged me and talked me down for like two hours and I had like 95 doses of ‘rescue remedy.///So yeah, the last night though, Korrin came over and he, Luke, Silas and I kicked off the eve with some absenth Luke had brought back from Australia. Woo. Once again I had the best of intentions to refrain from party substances, but by the sixth minute into the car ride on the way to Toronto, I’d cracked a brewsky. We picked up Danno and his woman who was, as expected, ‘affected’ by Luke’s driving. We grabbed my suitcase from downtown, then hit up Mona and Sophia’s apartment (where Degrassi’s ‘Spike’ used to live in real life). We then headed to the hill and met up with Bryan and his lady at this groovy older couple’s place -Deb and Bert. Deb is from PEI, so she had the ‘east coast hospitality. Deb reads tarot, and thought I was awesome because I’m an aquarius. Bert had a crazy turntable and accompanying what-have yous. Turns out electronic music gives me the nervous shits feeling. Aha…or maybe it’s the drugs that go with…Beatles and beer are what this bod should stick to.

T-O: Didn’t get to see much of Christina in T-O, but had an intense night out of beer, pool and our conversations of the spiritual nature. We have decided we are like ‘fork sisters’, because we always find each other and help each other move forward on a good path when we are at a fork in the road….-----Nina: I would have loved to have seen more of you-done a bunch of ‘Hot Yoga’, gone to church, temple and all that shyiht! Let’s not ‘break-up’ this time we’re apart cuz that would be re-dick! I wish we were going to be in London at the same time dawg. Also, I really appreciate having you as a friend as you are the basically the only friend I have (under like age 40) who has such an appreciation for/ connection to the spirit world. I think we will go into some sort of business together one day. Loves ya Cheech Marie!-----....as for the rest of tee dot times, they can suck a vegan dick because I do not feel at home in this city any more, although wandering the streets I have many an interesting memory. Going back to the Unicorn Bar near Younge and Eglinton on Danno’s birthday was loaded with mems…I kissed Mersad there when I was like 16, I went there with Luke and his bro (‘I am not a hoe like Karla, Luke!...Silas, what’s you’re girlfriend’s name?’ ‘Karla.’…yeah) …I ran into Hepburn near there on the street when Andrew Raynard was visiting the summer we were broaken up, and on our way to go camping in Huntsville…my Dad visited Canada and met me for lunch right there one of the two times I’ve seen him in the past like 3 years…my mom lives right there…..weird to be right there and not see her because she is so sick, and we are not talking in person. It made me sad -one parent to reconcile with at a time I guess. Keep on truckin’!

ps. first person i run into in T-O is Chickadee. riddle me that. how many fucked up 'co-incidences' can one girl have in the course of well, like every fuckin day dawg. they just keep coming, and I haven't even mentioned the psychic born again christian buddy. i'll have to add that story in! and i have to stop saying 'dawg'. it's only when i write.???

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb