My 1st stop is Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
January 19th 2011
Published: January 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=8MGmmZr3wN4]

In Hong Kong…



…everything is a lot different, that’s for sure! Can you even believe I didn’t even see another monkey the whole time I was there? Unbelievable! Oh well. I had so much fun there it didn’t even matter. If you already watched my video, then you know some of the things we did when I was here. I sure am glad Nate and Jessie are with me to help me find my way around since the city is so big.

One of my favorite things we saw in Hong Kong was the light show that goes on every night in the city, and it even had green lazers in it! They sure don’t have places like this where I grew up in the jungle. Not only did we get a great view of the light show, but the next day we went to the Peak. That’s where you can see all of the city and the harbor where the ships are at the same time. We took a ferry across the water and then a bus to get there. Wait till you see the pictures we got, especially the ones with me!

We also went to a monastery where the monks live and saw a really big statue of Buddha. Nate and Jessie decided we should get some lunch there too, so we ate a vegetarian meal that the monks prepared. Since I’m a monkey, I don’t eat meat anyways, and I loved it! The only hard part was using chopsticks instead of my fingers. If you think YOU have a hard time with chopsticks, try being a MONKEY and using them!

The last night we were in Hong Kong, we went to some street markets. I’ve never seen so many people shopping at one time! My friends Nate and Jessie bought some souvenirs and kept me from getting stepped on since I’m so short. I finally decided to just ride in Jessie’s purse so I was safer. Make sure you see the picture of me with the gold rabbit. The Chinese New Year is coming up, and it’s the year of the rabbit for them. That’s why we saw so many rabbit decorations.

Before we went to the airport to leave for Thailand, we did some more walking around and found a restaurant serving dim sum. Belieeeeeve ME, if you could taste by looking at a picture, you would all be licking your lips and saying, “mmmmmm”. We were all really glad we tried it before leaving. After we ate, it was time for my close up on video. Aren’t I just the cutest monkey you’ve ever seen? I hope all my traveling makes me famous, just like Curious George, or King Kong! Well, maybe not King Kong. He scares me!

Anyways, I’m heading to Thailand now and the 90 degree warm weather! Be sure to check out my next posting when we’re there. For those of you in Mrs. Hunt’s 2nd grade class, remember, be good and always do your homework! See you soon!!!

Wylie



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



23rd January 2011

hi Wylie! from 2nd grade
We love the pictures of Wylie.
23rd January 2011

We love you Wylie!
Were having fun learning about the world with you Wylie.Is it cool in Bangkok Thailand?You are a cute monkey!What is it like in Bangkok Thailand?Were are you going next?Please write back.

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0676s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb