Happy New Year!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
January 1st 2014
Published: January 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

NYENYENYE

photo credit: Aol.com
Ahoj!

Many, many apologies for being M.I.A. There has been whirlwind of events the past few days so let's start with new years eve.

New Years Eve in HK is a blast and a half!

Winnie and I walked all over Central. We started off at Mana!, an extremely healthy restaurant that consists of flatbreads, salads and shakes. I'm pretty sure it's a vegetarian place but man, it was delicious. It's got a Boulder-esque feel with its decoration and the water fountain comes from a "water wall"... and they call it sky juice. That part of it, is okay, not my cup of tea but the food makes it all fantastic. And it's all made in-house and it's super fresh! Now that's rare in HK.

Then we made our way to a Belgian waffle shop called Wafffle (three f's) and once again, I was super happy. The lady at the counter was just amazing and accommodating. You can even write on the walls so naturally, I had to write something Denver related.

After the waffle, we mozy-ed our way to Quinary, a bar that makes out-of-this-world cocktails. Now, I can't say it is completely out-of-this-world but
MTR stationMTR stationMTR station

Lots and lots of people getting ready for NYE
I can tell you that they are very innovative with their ingredients. When we arrived, I watched one of the bartenders make this sweet potato-flavored vodka. He cut up a sweet potato, blended it with Absolut vodka, filtered it through this round bottom flask and proceeded to create some scientific experiment using a machine that Dr. Jekyll used. It was fascinating.

When we left Quinary, we walked around SoHo and came upon an organic shop, which was pretty much a mini Whole Foods. Didn't think those would exist in HK, either. We bought some New Years Eve gadget at a street market for the sake of being festive. I got a headband with two sparkling balls as alien-like ears and Winnie got a pair of green glasses.

We made it to our final destination at what I believe is called Red Bar. Right by the bar is a GIANT patio that's open to the public and it was certainly a popular spot for count down. Winnie and I staked out in the front row for 2.5 hours so we could get a good glimpse of fireworks. Totally worth it especially how crowded it became by 10:30 pm.

I love counting down in HK and was thrilled to have done it with my best friend.

Oh and please come by for photos of Winnie and I. I only took pictures of the environment, she has all of the photos of she and I.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

MarketMarket
Market

I forgot the name of this market... but they sold all kinds of costumes for new years eve celebration
Juice ladyJuice lady
Juice lady

Fresh squeezed juice - sugar cane, orange, pear etc.
Mana restaurantMana restaurant
Mana restaurant

All natural!
Red BarRed Bar
Red Bar

Just arrived
NYENYE
NYE

photo credit: NewYearsEveBlog.org
NYENYE
NYE

photo credit: Storify.com


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb