A quiet weekend


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
December 30th 2013
Published: December 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I decided to head to Tsim Sha Tsui over the weekend. It's a popular area where I used to hang out as a high school kid. It's also a great place to shop, eat and look at the Hong Kong skyline. When I was in high school, I would walk along the harbour, watch summer outdoor concerts, go to plays, shop shop shop, eat eat eat and take the ferry. Sadly, I didn't get a chance to peruse the harbour mostly because the night view is way better to photograph than the day and I had to leave before nightfall... so perhaps another entry!

There's a lot of things that have stayed the same in TST but so many more things have been added on top of it. There are so many more shopping centres than I can remember and this new space called Heritage 1800? Heritage 1881? 1880? Whatever the numbers are, it's expensive. The architecture looks quite European and it carries all the mega brand names a.k.a. you must be loaded to be able to shop there. On the other hand, it's a marvelous back drop for wedding photos. I saw a couple of brides and grooms getting
Park LanePark LanePark Lane

Shopping lane
their photos taken.

I also took a gander at Lan Kwai Fong and Soho - top place to drink yourself to sleep. Visitors and tourists flock to this area to party and since the new year is upon us, it's going to be insanely crowded so I figured I would take some photos on a Sunday night while no one is around.

Just about a decade ago, LKF got so crowded that people were trampled to death but things have gotten a lot better. There's police enforcement and people are generally more civilized. Basically, LKF and SoHo is a hill with bars, clubs and restaurants lined up next to each other. You can find wine, light beers and odd cocktails with sexy names to be popular choices.

Anyway, everything I've done is a considered a quiet weekend. So enjoy the views and await for the new years eve entry! Stoked.


Additional photos below
Photos: 52, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Bus stopBus stop
Bus stop

Advertisement galore!
iSquare MalliSquare Mall
iSquare Mall

Mall front
Space museumSpace museum
Space museum

and taxi
Peninsula HotelPeninsula Hotel
Peninsula Hotel

Top ten hotel of the world. Clearly did not do it justice with my photography skills. Apologies
Heritage 1880Heritage 1880
Heritage 1880

I think that's what' it's called
RestaurantsRestaurants
Restaurants

All on different floors. We don't have enough space on ground floor so restaurants are all in commercial buildings
Tree in Park laneTree in Park lane
Tree in Park lane

I just thought it looked cool
Pharmacy storePharmacy store
Pharmacy store

Everything is stacked on to pof each other


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0244s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb