Holiday in Hong Kong - Days 43, 44, 45, 46, 47 & 48


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
March 7th 2006
Published: March 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

View from the Kowloon ferryView from the Kowloon ferryView from the Kowloon ferry

The view of Hong Kong island from the Kowloon ferry.
I’ve been in Hong Kong for the last 6 days. It’s a place I’ve always wanted to visit, but wasn’t on my original itinerary. However, when Marion said she was going to visit me in Bali it was decided that we should also visit her sister and brother in law in Hong Kong. I arrived in Hong Kong on Thursday, again after spending all day flying to Singapore and then waiting in transit. I won’t be sad to see the back of Singapore airport!!! Anyway, I managed to meet up with Dan in Hong Kong on Friday. We didn’t manage to get as drunk as we did in Phi Phi. Probably best really, as Marion has 3 little nieces and I don’t think they would have enjoyed seeing a pissed up English man!?!?! Managed to drag Dan around the Jade market, which I think he really enjoyed!!! I have to say I respect Dan’s method of bartering with the Chinese, it involves offering a tenth of the asking price & then being really offended when they are insulted by this. Needless, to say I did purchase a number of items but not at a tenth of the price. On Saturday had
Bank of China TowerBank of China TowerBank of China Tower

Bank of China Tower (367m/1,205f, 72 stories, 1990), currently Hong Kong's 3rd tallest and designed by I.M. Pei.
a bit of relaxing day, which involved a really nice bit of dim sum. The duck was amazing, this was followed by a night at the theatre watching some Classical Music The rest of the time in Hong Kong was spent relaxing in Stanley, mixed with a few hours shopping in the many markets. I would like to thank both Anne-Lise and Guillaume for looking after me in Hong Kong, you made my stay really enjoyable. I leave for OZ on Tuesday, and have to say that I have had the first sense of reluctance about my travels!!! You can only live out of a rucksack for so long. Anyway, hope you are all well and look forward to hearing from you all soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Randy Terrapins!Randy Terrapins!
Randy Terrapins!

Terrapins in pond at Hong Kong Park.


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb