Ballin!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
October 19th 2008
Published: October 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Pok Fu Lam PlaygroundPok Fu Lam PlaygroundPok Fu Lam Playground

Came across this gem on a run I had. It was so nice that I thought it was private property. I dared not venture...until I saw...
Hey all you basketball and soccer fanatics (ahem* Hen Head)! You will LOVE this place!

Upon my arrival, I was so upset because I thought a big part of me was left behind back in Toronto. One of my favourite past times, ways to soak in the sun and get an amazing work out, to spend time with your buddies and joke around and yet think and use your brain at millisecond speeds. This was basketball.

A huuuuge part of me came rushing back into my life when I stumbled upon these outdoor courts located in various pockets of Hong Kong. Tucked away in public playgrounds or in amidst apartment buildings away from the streets. These caged in, fully lit, squeaky floored, mesh-rimmed havens will soon be a part of my regular workouts. It's one thing finding decent running paths within the city without having to take a bus just to get out of the smog-filled zone to avoid lung damage, but to find these courts, I've struck gold! GOLD!

Soccer, or 'Football' here is played on mini sized courts. Very similar to the basketball courts (which are equivalent to the same surface used in hardcourt tennis) are big enough for 3 v 3 +goalies pick up games. I have yet to join in on the fun, but it looks promising. The nets are large enough that goalies can still dive and players can rip a shot without the goalie fearing for being decapitated.

Paying homage to soccer and basketball players out there. Come to HK!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Footballer's dreamFootballer's dream
Footballer's dream

So, it's all fenced in and the quality is amazing.
Pok Fu Lam Bball courtsPok Fu Lam Bball courts
Pok Fu Lam Bball courts

The same park holds just as nice basketball courts
PKL BallinPKL Ballin
PKL Ballin

MESH!!!
WalkwayWalkway
Walkway

Even the paths are nicely kept. I saw 3 people working to clean this place up.
Wan Chai Soccer courtsWan Chai Soccer courts
Wan Chai Soccer courts

Tonight was a league game.


21st October 2008

Pok Fu Lam Playground
Man, I used to pass that place every damn day on my way to work! It's where the mistresses go at night when they want a quick fuck! j/k I practically lived across the street from that place... well closer to the Hospital but it's kind of close.. you get my drift
22nd October 2008

Jealous
I can so imagine us playing there everyday and night. We'd be super fit and I know we'd dominate both soccer and basketball courts. It looks 10 times better than JS. SUPER JEALOUS. Oh, and is this free? And who maintains it? How's the competition? Do they have free tennis courts too? You should play more often, since they have bleachers, there may be recruiters...so if all else fails at Pacific, you can join the Hong Kong team.
25th October 2008

This looks sick man!! Hows the Bball? I going to have to make the trip over to see this in person. Mistresses too!? Incredible... That is also an amazing idea..... sport brothels.... I will e-mail Martenelli and see if he will invest on this new found phenomenon.

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0972s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb