Long time no see :)


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island » Stanley
February 10th 2011
Published: February 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

057057057

on the way to the buddha!
I know it has been awhile since I have written anything here. I have been very busy!

We just celebrated our Chinese New Year here and Adam came to visit me. He was here for 12 days or so. We had a wonderful time together. It was just so nice to have him here so he could see what my life has looked like for the last 7 months or so. We did some touristy things and had some nice dinners- the weather was great so we got to go on a hike together, one that we were not really prepared for. It also turned out that I was in better shape than he was.....maybe just for these 2 weeks of our lives, but still! I crushed him. 😉

I attached most of the pictures from our time together. 😊

Adam also had the pleasure of helping me take my kittens to have their "de-sexing" surgery, as they call it here. Also known in the US as spayed. 😊 It was quite a time...because afterward they had to wear a plastic cone for 10 days, as you will see in some of the pictures. They were not very
058058058

riding the cable cars up to the top- a 20 minute ride.
happy about this- I think they thought they would have to wear it forever. But this morning......they were FREED. I could finally take the collars off them.....and they are just bouncing around and playing together. They are very happy. 😊

On another note- I am starting to feel like I am really flourishing here. I have had a lot of great opportunities- I am conducting some for the Upper Primary choir (grades 3-5), I just led a community choir rehearsal, I might be singing some with the Faculty Jazz group, I have had some great professional development. I don't know schools in the states very well since I have only student taught at one of them, and the one I student taught at was really quite good and very supportive of its teachers and the music program. I am hoping that some of these professional development and extra learning activities are available there as well. This school here is also a very tight community- teachers hang out together, they are friends as well as co-workers. I am not sure I will find that quite as much in the US, at least from my experience so far. I am hoping, though, that I can find a school where I can flourish as well. Everyone keep yours eyes and ears out for me!

I think that is all for now. The kitties have almost exhausted themselves from running around and chasing each other. I might just get to go back to sleep..... 😊

Enjoy the pictures!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 91, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

057057
057

on the way to the buddha!
058058
058

riding the cable cars up to the top- a 20 minute ride.
064064
064

Natural ventilation ;)
068068
068

there it is!
071071
071

these oranges still have the stickers on them.....
073073
073

GIANT mu-yu (wood fish) instrument


Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb