So I wasn't Detained - ie Avery's kind of naive


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Kunming
December 22nd 2012
Published: December 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello from China,

I am currently sitting in the Kunming Airport, Yunnan Province. It is 2:55 am. I am safe and I'm not in trouble. I was super worried when I checked into my flight in Chiangmai. I was unable to printout my itinerary at the hostel, but luckily I had written down my information before I left, because I did not realize that I needed a visa to enter China for ten hours....rookie mistake. But the lady running the Check-in was very nice and she was able to have my itinerary faxed from Eastern China Airlines in Bangkok. I had to promise her that I would never make this mistake again. Trust me. I won't.

The main thing is that I'm okay but on the plane I was freaking out! Would I be detained? Would I have to contact the US Embassy? Would they even let me into the country? And from there my imagination ran like wildfire. But As I was taking off I could only think two things.There isn't much I can do now I'm on the plane. So take what comes with a level head. And Isn't this the adventure you have always wanted?

My plan of action when I arrived was to follow the crowd and as soon as I got to immigration I would immediately inform them of my mistake and go from there. It worked. But I learned a very important lesson. Expecting respect should never be equated to receiving accomodation. I think that is why there is so many angry travelers. They mix up respect and special treatment. I think it is better to admit the probelms and go from there; keeping a level head. Plus, I think the airport staff secretly appreciates it.

So there you have it. I almost did not make it (by my own fault) to the first leg of my journey, but thanks to some nice, understanding people in Chiangmai, Bangkok, and China I was able to get a couple winks sleeping on a bench and finish a book. I am so glad that I bought a winter coat before I left because it is freezing in here (they keep the doors open). I will keep you posted. I hope all of you are having a wonderful Christmas!

Happy Travels!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb