On route to Everest


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tibet » Everest
August 22nd 2010
Published: August 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Yep, havent had a shower in awhile. Feeling very dusty and gross.

I love our local guides who travel with us through Tibet and China. (Because China is crazy control freak paranoid) you must have a local guide at all times. So Myles (Chinese) and Lobsong (Tibetan) met us at the border.

Noel and Dan are cool too.

Had a very rough few days. the altitude got me again at the same pass on the way to our first bush camp. I thought i was going to die - if not from the altyitude then definitely from the plastic bag that I had permanently wrapped around my face! At 5100 metres the plastic bag really is your best friend. I think I went through about 5.

I couldnt even make my tent without spewing and support on either side.

I stayed there till the next morning, fearing that Steph would come back to find a dead tent buddy. and then what would happen.

Next morning I had Mylses Chinese medicine super drugs - Rhodiola. Heaps better than the Diomox stuff that western DRs prescribe.

Just visted the World's highest monastry (if you dont count the next highest monastry that we visit...)





Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb